SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1159 (Misses' Dress)

22 more reviews
Viewed 520 times 
Reviewed by:piakdy
photo

 
 
About piakdy
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/12 6:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
Such a beautiful dress - well done!
12/6/12 11:59 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful dress! I really like the orange color on you :)
11/4/12 7:22 AM
Markie1 said...
Wow. That is GORGEOUS on you! Thank you for the indepth review.
10/28/12 11:00 PM
eleda said...
Very Beautiful!
10/26/12 7:26 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - you got all the problems out of this pattern to produce a real knockout - better than the photo on the envelope!!
10/25/12 10:36 PM
ggf2005 said...
marvelous!
10/25/12 11:29 AM
piakdy said...
Thanks for the compliments! :-) I was the same about the pattern. It wasn't until I saw other reviews here that I decided to give it a go. Personally, I like patterns like this with lovely details (drapes in this case) to be in plain fabric so the details show up better. Patterns are great for interesting silhouettes, or where seaming creates interesting overall pattern design. This one I did choose the color so I can show off the drape better. BTW, I don't have much of a waist either. Or rather my smallish boob and hip make my torso look more rectangular. I think the cross-crossing drape on this one help creates an illusion of a waist. So Gernella, don't give up on this style of dresses!
10/25/12 11:12 AM
sewin said...
This dress is gorgeous on you. Love the way the fabric drapes. Very Nice!
10/25/12 9:51 AM
gernella said...
Fabulous dress but I don't think I could pull off wearing it. Need a waist for that. You look fantastic in it.
10/25/12 6:54 AM
Berkie said...
Wow! Your dress is more beautiful than the pattern photo.
10/25/12 6:06 AM
Cuffs said...
Your fabric choice really shows the pleats and draping beautifully. You look gorgeous!
10/25/12 0:22 AM
cocosloft said...
Beautiful! Really different and looks stunning on you.
10/24/12 10:40 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning on you. And what beautiful photography.
10/24/12 9:54 PM
ArtAttack said...
Awesome! You and I love the same colors!
10/24/12 8:45 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful! And so much nicer than the pattern photo. I wouldn't have given this a second look until saw the dress you made from it.
10/24/12 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now