Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8570 (MISSES' DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 501 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:cirena
photo
About cirenastar
ISRAEL
Member since: 5/11/12
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/12 10:36 AM
Last Updated:11/4/12 3:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrsbewley said...
Beautiful dress, and all handsewn? Wow! Love the linen too.
10/30/12 11:09 AM
SavageCoco said...
ABSOLUTLEY OUTSTANDING. Brilliant work. Just brilliant.
10/30/12 11:52 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!!!
10/30/12 11:59 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! I love it!! The fabric combination is great!
10/30/12 3:53 PM
jenleeC said...
Oh my! Your dress is beautiful and I am in awe of your wonderful craftmanship! And I love your layout photo showing pattern, fabric and threads! I think I may have to steal this idea. It would make a wonderful sewing diary record.
10/30/12 9:35 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing dress and all made by hand, you have done a beautiful job and I am in awe of your patience and skill.
10/30/12 10:27 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
The most gorgeous, beautifully finished dress. Its rare to see this sort of thing today, good on you for making it and reviewing it!
10/30/12 10:30 PM
sewpelican said...
WOW! what a fantastic achievement. It's beautifully sewn and to think you did the whole thing by hand, The finish inside is lovely. How long did it take you to make the dress?, Just curious.
10/31/12 2:35 AM
cirena said...
Wow!!! :) Thank you very much!!! A lot of good energy comes from your comment, and it makes me happy :) To "mrsbewley": I love linen too. Especially in a hot, with a high humidity clime, like in Israel. To "SavageCoco": Thank you, I appreciate these kind of comments. To "SewWil": Thank you very much :) To "imsewcrazy": I agree, it was very important for me to find that Ivory linen, and not white. I just can't see the white with this vintage pink color. To "jenleeC": Regarding the craftsmanship, the thanks should go to all the books and DVD's that Claire Shaeffer and Susan Kajal wrote on couture hand sewing, since I'm only a beginner. I'm glad you like the layout, forgot to put there the button. Next time :) Thank you! To "Sharonspils": The process of hand sewing itself, makes me more peaceful, its only you your thoughts and the needle, love that feeling. I tried not to desire to see it finished. These are the thoughts that rush you, and you make mistakes. I'm comparing the hand sewing to an oil painting, that is done fore months. This is an art, and its endless possibilities enchants me. To "iSewQuiltArt": Glad you liked it that much. Thank you very much :) To "sewpelican": Thank you very much! Appreciate that comment. It took me 3 months, but only in the holidays since I have a full time job.
10/31/12 4:42 AM
CissieW said...
What a lovely dress! I have to say, that does not look like the work of a beginner! I agree with you about the joys of handsewing -- but it does take time!
11/4/12 9:19 AM
sewbarbie said...
It's nice to see that even with all the new technology that you made a beautiful dress all by hand. I'm completely impressed and the dress is lovely.
11/4/12 11:49 AM
cindyann said...
Really nice! I have this pattern and I'm so glad to see it made up. It's lovely!
11/4/12 12:13 PM
carolynw said...
Stunning dress and like others am simply in awe of this all being done by hand - your bound buttonhole is 100% perfect. Absolutely beautiful work - am very impressed by your patience
11/4/12 2:32 PM
Claverie said...
Love the button. Love the buttonhole! Am in AWE that you did this by hand! Amazing. Nice work.
11/4/12 3:50 PM
lamstu said...
Beautiful dress. I'm so impressed by your handwork.
11/5/12 2:41 AM
cirena said...
To "CissieW": Thank you for the complement. I'm just a perfectionist, and have a little of patience :) To "sewbarbie": Thank you, I agree about the technology, maybe I'll buy some day a sewing machine. I'm afraid that it will not give me that precision like I have with the hand sewing, I just never tried one :( To "cindyann": Thanks! Hope I'll see yours too :) To "carolynw": Thank you appreciate your comment. To "Claverie": Thanks :) The button was purchased from an Etsy shop named "Lyanwood". The button description: Mandala Metal Buttons - Classy Lovely Set 10 PIERCED Unique Kaleidoscopes Style Light Copper Buttons. 1 inch To "lamstu": Thank you :)
11/5/12 2:47 AM
ggf2005 said...
beautiful dress...hand sewn reminds me of how my mom would make my dresses.
11/5/12 10:39 AM
AuntieShel said...
Sewn by hand? And you're a beginner? This dress is very beautiful and flawless, I might add!! Awe-inspiring!!
11/5/12 2:09 PM
Karendee said...
I am truly in awe of you wonderful, precise work. This is a beautiful dress.
11/7/12 9:45 PM
cirena said...
Thank you :)
11/15/12 2:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us