Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2948 (Twin Sets) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1532 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 11:09 AM
Last Updated:1/25/05 11:14 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
Looks great! My mom has also suggested using the gold chain thing to close a cardigan. I wasn't exactly sure what she was talking about, so it was interesting that you said the same thing. I've got to get a twinset pattern, and from the sounds of it, this would be a good one to start with! Thanks for the review!
1/25/05 11:25 AM
bunz said...
Beautiful fabric -- you're right. And good job on a great set.
1/25/05 11:33 AM
Georgene said...
That gold chain is called a "sweater guard". You might be able to find in vintage shops or online. Very 50's!
1/25/05 11:39 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love the fabric. And what a deal! I love finding great deals in the clearance bins. Your twin set looks great on you. The closure you mentioned is called a "frog" I think. Oops! I posted at the same time as Georgene. You are right, Georgene. That's what it's called- a sweater guard.
1/25/05 11:39 AM
PegL said...
Ohhh....beautiful set! I understand why you had to have that fabric! It's gorgeous!
1/25/05 12:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great choice of fabric. I have one of those vintage chain things....you have inspired me.
1/25/05 1:04 PM
JoleneF said...
Thanks everyone. The pictures are terrilbe with the colors. The top is a darker beige/tan than the picture shows. I just wish you could all see and feel this fabric!
1/25/05 4:41 PM
BjP said...
I have this very same fabric because I also fell in love with it and it is something I normally wouldn't buy or wear, either. I am so glad to see your review using this fabric - I was still in doubt what pattern to use, but I think you've made me think that this twin set is a definite possibility!
1/25/05 5:13 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very inspiring! Have been wanting to make a sweater set, but was afraid it would be too difficult. I really like it without buttons! Thanks Georgene, and others for the reminding me about those sweater guards.
1/25/05 9:20 PM
AnneM said...
I can see why you like the fabric. The jacket looks great on it. I don't think you need a button. If you want to add one, a simple plain gold button at the top would work. I'm not certain about the sweater guard, because it is very 50's, and your jacket isn't 50's. It would probably look good, though; I'm just having trouble visualizing it.
1/26/05 4:21 AM
Levone said...
Great looking twinset. I too love the fabric that you used.
1/26/05 1:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Great buy at a $1.50 a yard. I am envious.
1/26/05 7:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

KnipMode Magazine 02-2011-12
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/18/11
Read Review

By Hand London Anna Dress
By Hand London Anna Dress

Details
Price: $23.39
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)
Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 36361-1000
photo
Review by JEF on 2/25/09
Read Review

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us