SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2948 (Twin Sets)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1534 times 
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo

 
 
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 11:09 AM
Last Updated:1/25/05 11:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Great buy at a $1.50 a yard. I am envious.
1/26/05 7:53 PM
Levone said...
Great looking twinset. I too love the fabric that you used.
1/26/05 1:20 PM
AnneM said...
I can see why you like the fabric. The jacket looks great on it. I don't think you need a button. If you want to add one, a simple plain gold button at the top would work. I'm not certain about the sweater guard, because it is very 50's, and your jacket isn't 50's. It would probably look good, though; I'm just having trouble visualizing it.
1/26/05 4:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very inspiring! Have been wanting to make a sweater set, but was afraid it would be too difficult. I really like it without buttons! Thanks Georgene, and others for the reminding me about those sweater guards.
1/25/05 9:20 PM
BjP said...
I have this very same fabric because I also fell in love with it and it is something I normally wouldn't buy or wear, either. I am so glad to see your review using this fabric - I was still in doubt what pattern to use, but I think you've made me think that this twin set is a definite possibility!
1/25/05 5:13 PM
JoleneF said...
Thanks everyone. The pictures are terrilbe with the colors. The top is a darker beige/tan than the picture shows. I just wish you could all see and feel this fabric!
1/25/05 4:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great choice of fabric. I have one of those vintage chain things....you have inspired me.
1/25/05 1:04 PM
PegL said...
Ohhh....beautiful set! I understand why you had to have that fabric! It's gorgeous!
1/25/05 12:04 PM
Sew it seams said...
I love the fabric. And what a deal! I love finding great deals in the clearance bins. Your twin set looks great on you. The closure you mentioned is called a "frog" I think. Oops! I posted at the same time as Georgene. You are right, Georgene. That's what it's called- a sweater guard.
1/25/05 11:39 AM
Georgene said...
That gold chain is called a "sweater guard". You might be able to find in vintage shops or online. Very 50's!
1/25/05 11:39 AM
bunz said...
Beautiful fabric -- you're right. And good job on a great set.
1/25/05 11:33 AM
jacalhoun said...
Looks great! My mom has also suggested using the gold chain thing to close a cardigan. I wasn't exactly sure what she was talking about, so it was interesting that you said the same thing. I've got to get a twinset pattern, and from the sounds of it, this would be a good one to start with! Thanks for the review!
1/25/05 11:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2697

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Portabello Pixie Analise

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review