SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2948 (Twin Sets)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1533 times 
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo

 
 
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 11:09 AM
Last Updated:1/25/05 11:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
Looks great! My mom has also suggested using the gold chain thing to close a cardigan. I wasn't exactly sure what she was talking about, so it was interesting that you said the same thing. I've got to get a twinset pattern, and from the sounds of it, this would be a good one to start with! Thanks for the review!
1/25/05 11:25 AM
bunz said...
Beautiful fabric -- you're right. And good job on a great set.
1/25/05 11:33 AM
Georgene said...
That gold chain is called a "sweater guard". You might be able to find in vintage shops or online. Very 50's!
1/25/05 11:39 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love the fabric. And what a deal! I love finding great deals in the clearance bins. Your twin set looks great on you. The closure you mentioned is called a "frog" I think. Oops! I posted at the same time as Georgene. You are right, Georgene. That's what it's called- a sweater guard.
1/25/05 11:39 AM
PegL said...
Ohhh....beautiful set! I understand why you had to have that fabric! It's gorgeous!
1/25/05 12:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great choice of fabric. I have one of those vintage chain things....you have inspired me.
1/25/05 1:04 PM
JoleneF said...
Thanks everyone. The pictures are terrilbe with the colors. The top is a darker beige/tan than the picture shows. I just wish you could all see and feel this fabric!
1/25/05 4:41 PM
BjP said...
I have this very same fabric because I also fell in love with it and it is something I normally wouldn't buy or wear, either. I am so glad to see your review using this fabric - I was still in doubt what pattern to use, but I think you've made me think that this twin set is a definite possibility!
1/25/05 5:13 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very inspiring! Have been wanting to make a sweater set, but was afraid it would be too difficult. I really like it without buttons! Thanks Georgene, and others for the reminding me about those sweater guards.
1/25/05 9:20 PM
AnneM said...
I can see why you like the fabric. The jacket looks great on it. I don't think you need a button. If you want to add one, a simple plain gold button at the top would work. I'm not certain about the sweater guard, because it is very 50's, and your jacket isn't 50's. It would probably look good, though; I'm just having trouble visualizing it.
1/26/05 4:21 AM
Levone said...
Great looking twinset. I too love the fabric that you used.
1/26/05 1:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Great buy at a $1.50 a yard. I am envious.
1/26/05 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

Simplicity 2245

photo
by: Erin D

Review
Green Pepper 401

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now