SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2772 (pants, shorts & shirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1511 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/05 6:36 PM
Last Updated:1/27/05 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow Debe! what a great fitting pair of pants. I've only made the shirt which I love (but it faded so I cant wear it anymore) but now after your review its time to take it out again. Again... those pants look great on you!
1/28/05 10:55 AM
SandraB said...
Debe, these pants look great on you. By the way, according to the fashion mags, waistlines are back up to where they are supposed to be, so your new pants are very much in vogue.
1/28/05 10:19 AM
Sew it seams said...
Tailypo, I did read about the short waistband length in one of the previous reviews and I meant to mention it in my review, but I forgot. I didn't have a problem with the waistband at all. Maybe KwikSew has changed that piece and there are a still a few of the ones that are short out there. It would be a good thing to make note of for anyone who is planning on making these. BTW, I did shorten the waistband the same 3/8" in the back seam as I did with the CB seam on the pants, but since the there are no side seams on the band, there was that amount extra at the center front, but had I not done that alteration, the waistband on my pattern was still drafted correctly.
1/28/05 8:49 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Debe, your pants look perfect! Definitely a new "keeper" pattern for you.
1/28/05 7:32 AM
Tailypo said...
Great looking pants! So you didn't have a problem with the waistband coming up short? Seems like most folks get to the front and the waistband doesn't overlap correctly. I've been afraid to try them but now I'm inspired!
1/27/05 11:30 PM
PVA said...
Very nice pair of pants -- don't you love it when you can wear the muslin! Thanks for the review.
1/27/05 10:41 PM
Sew it seams said...
drsue, I have not made a pair of Burda pants to compare the crotch seam to, but the fear of having to fiddle with the crotch seam,-- lengthening it- front? back? shortening it? is what has kept me from making pants in the past. This pair is comfortable for me exactly as it was drafted. (Except the small alteration at the waist) I am planning on trying the newer KwikSew pants pattern-can't think of the number- it's the one with the bootcut jean using a stretch bottom weight.
1/27/05 10:00 PM
drsue said...
Boy, those are really nice! I've never made KS pants - - don't like elastic waists for one. How is the crotch curve on KS pants - - - as good as Burda?
1/27/05 9:50 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks everyone! Now that I have this pattern out, I just may make the top.
1/27/05 9:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Debe, That fit is to die for! I have this pattern--but I'm going to make Burda's One Seam Pants first. After that, I may or may not make more! Very nice job.
1/27/05 8:00 PM
mudcat said...
Wow. Your pants turned out really well. They look very RTW in a positive way.
1/27/05 6:48 PM
sewsue said...
Great review and great fiting pants. I'm off to buy this pattern!
1/27/05 5:41 PM
PegL said...
Debe -- great looking pants! Looks like you did a awesome job with the fitting!
1/27/05 1:04 PM
gabrielle said...
Debe, your pants look great. I made these too not so long ago, and your comments are right on the money. I think the pattern is a bargain. :)
1/27/05 12:50 PM
kbrock said...
Very nice job! I have this pattern but have been scared of the fly...maybe I'll cut a muslin this weekend...sure could use a pair of pants like that. Well done!
1/27/05 12:48 PM
JoleneF said...
I think they look great!
1/27/05 11:24 AM
Levone said...
Great looking pants! I have this pattern also, and hope to try it out in a couple of months.
1/27/05 11:12 AM
Hilary said...
Ok you've convinced me I need this pattern (my DH might disagree! lol) Your pants look absolutely wonderful-a perfect fit, very RTW! I have made 3 pairs of pants from Kwik Sew patterns and they have all turned out to fit great(and comfortably too). I really need to get them reviewed-I agree about the back waist/crotch construction-it's so easy to make, and to alter if need be. Thanks for a great informative review!
1/27/05 10:49 AM
SewingSkater said...
Thanks for the review! The fit looks great! This pattern is on my list of things to try. I will cut down the crotch length, though. Those high-rise pants make me feel waaay to 1980's! I hope to make the shorts from this pattern. They look so cute!
1/27/05 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6513

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
New Look 6000

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now