SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5707 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 263
Favored by: 151 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/12 7:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
There's still a lot to love about it even if you aren't totally pleased with your result. The skirt has a beautiful fit and the fabric is lovely.
11/6/12 7:54 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
I think it's stunning, and will be even moreso after you've "saved" it.
11/6/12 8:01 PM
Scheri said...
Wow I love this pattern. But I am so glad you did your review. The fabric is beautiful your sewing is exqusite. Sorry that you do not like the finished result. But thank you so much for sharing.
11/6/12 8:15 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I only wish my "flops" were this gorgeous! Sometimes us sewing ladies have incredibly high expectations. Maybe take a little break and see what inspiration strikes for adjustments. I wasn't thrilled with the fit of my NL 6968 and after a month vacation from it, I felt inspired to do the necessary rework. Even if your dress never sees another needle, I think it is lovely!
11/6/12 8:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks so much for your kind words.
11/6/12 8:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, I wouldn't give up on it yet! The color is gorgeous on you and the retro style is very cool. I think with a little tweaking of the bodice you will have a total winner. I hope you end up loving it! Great review, too.
11/6/12 8:58 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for a thorough and honest review. I can understand how the fabric choice is making you dissatisfied with the final dress. I hope you're able to selvage it!
11/6/12 9:44 PM
SewWil said...
Hang in there! You are very close to making this work. The color and style are definitely right for you. I'm sure you will wind up loving this dress. It is beautiful.
11/7/12 0:53 AM
regal80 said...
great smile, great pattern and fit, great fabric choice :)
11/7/12 1:37 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry that you do not like the result. Hope your adjustments make it work for you -- I think it's very pretty though. I've found that with a lot of vintage patterns the skirt turns out more flared/full than the drawing -- sounds like that happened with this reprint too.
11/7/12 7:41 AM
sunnysewer said...
I see what you mean and so frustrating. I think most of the issue is with the fabric choice. Wonder if it would be better with the short sleeves? I just bought this pattern on a whim as well. that belt is perfection.
11/7/12 10:40 AM
MissCelie said...
Nooooo!!!! The color is STUNNING on you. I feel your disappointment :(
11/7/12 12:49 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for sharing what you feel is a"flop" - I think most of us like me don't do this so it's good to get your opinion. That said there is a lot about this dress to like - the color and fabric are beautiful and looks quite nice on you - hang it in the re-think closet for a while and you probably will find it's really beautiful
11/7/12 1:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
This is a beautiful dress;however, I totally understand where you are coming from. I agree that your fabric is just too crisp for the bodice of the dress.
11/7/12 3:39 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I hope you are able to salvage the dress because there are many beautiful details worth saving! Your workmanship is exquisite!
11/7/12 3:56 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks to everyone for sharing your thoughts. I thought it was important to review a project that didn't necessarily turn out perfect for me. I'm going to take a break from it and sew something else. God knows I have about 20 things cut and ready to sew. When I get back to this dress, I've update the review. Thanks again. Cennetta
11/7/12 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-146

photo
by: Renren

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now