SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7226 (top, jacket and pants)

Viewed 372 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/12 8:31 PM
Last Updated:11/7/12 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous jacket and a fine effort. It looks great on you. It's even more impressive given that the look you've created is quite different from the look on the envelope so you've seen possiblities in it and done your own thing. I am also curious about those trousers and would love to see a review of them. Let's hope someone obliges soon!
12/16/12 6:44 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, FIRST OF ALL, I might have had to SOUGHT YOU OUT and strangled you if you had gotten rid of this fabric -- ha! The PICTURES of you in this jacket are just BEAUTIFUL. These are definitely YOUR colors. And would you believe the VERY FIRST THING I thought of when I clicked on the project photo was "PENDLETON"? This has got to be one of my favorite jackets I've seen this season. I hope you just wear it and wear it and wear it. :o)
11/11/12 3:45 PM
BettyMike said...
What a great looking jacket! Love the fabric, glad you didn't give it away!
11/9/12 3:13 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your jacket! I had not paid any attention to this pattern before, but will be picking it up today. Yes it looks very like the old Pendleton jackets, but with more shaping. My mom also had one, and so did I (a 1970's version, same cut, but with a neon stripe of chartreuse in peacock and navy. I wore it horseback riding. I loved it and wore it til it fell apart. I am definitely up for another one. This time maybe a slightly more subtle color combination.). Thanks for this review. Now to dig out that Pendleton wool hand-me-down fabric in my stash. . .
11/9/12 8:59 AM
SewWil said...
What a great looking jacket! Good for you for hanging on to the fabric. You found the perfect piece to make with it.
11/8/12 8:12 PM
Barbara V said...
What??? You were going to give the fabric away??? It so suits you! The color and plaid look super on you.
11/8/12 3:21 PM
marec said...
Oh my, this is way cool. I too have memories of a Pendleton jacket from Mom. Your version is so current and pretty on you. I like the open collar and with the collar up, you will be cozy. Nice work and very helpful! View A calls to me for summer.
11/8/12 10:38 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - the plaid you used is lovely and all the decisions you made are right on. I bet you will get a lot of wear out of this
11/8/12 10:05 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Really sharp looking jacket! Love your style!
11/8/12 9:49 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a surprise-another Burda with poor instructions! You've obviously overcome that and come up with another winner. What a jacket wardrobe you must have!
11/8/12 6:53 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Stripes were well placed and matched. Looks like an especially good jacket for MN .
11/8/12 6:44 AM
Margaret said...
Great classic-looking jacket! Very nice plaid!
11/8/12 5:37 AM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review for a great jacket.
11/8/12 4:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
I love this on you...it looks super cute including the color. I swear, my mom had a jacket like that, too. Doesn't it make you feel warm and fuzzy thinking back on it?
11/8/12 0:47 AM
PattyE said...
I got this pattern for the pants. The jacket is great!
11/7/12 11:43 PM
velosewer said...
Now that you've made the jacket, you should be brave enough to tackle the trousers. Nice plaid choice and placement too.
11/7/12 11:16 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Nice! I think you'd look great in those wide pants, too. Why do they scare you?
11/7/12 11:11 PM
CorgieMom said...
Can I have it when your ready to pitch it? Lovely!! The colors look great on you. Great match of fabric and pattern.
11/7/12 10:20 PM
BlossomKyle said...
That jacket looks *so* RTW!!! Great job!!
11/7/12 9:50 PM
chenille said...
Great job on the jacket and these are really your colors. another fab project!
11/7/12 9:49 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I adore this jacket on you! The fabric is lovely, lovely. Your sister did good when she gave that fabric to you. I have 3 non-sewing brothers. :( (ha)
11/7/12 9:26 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is darling Barb! I love it on you!
11/7/12 9:24 PM
cleverkitty said...
Wow it looks great and yes it does remind me of a Pendleton wool plaid, which I love those classic fabrics. Perfect placement of plaid on the pockets and the back. The fit looks custom and the lining is oh ah so nice....all the right details, you'll be reaching for this jacket it looks like it will bring some zip to an outfit :)
11/7/12 9:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Jalie 2682

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

More Info
My Image Magazine M1152

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review