Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7226 (top, jacket and pants) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 366 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/12 8:31 PM
Last Updated:11/7/12 8:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
Wow it looks great and yes it does remind me of a Pendleton wool plaid, which I love those classic fabrics. Perfect placement of plaid on the pockets and the back. The fit looks custom and the lining is oh ah so nice....all the right details, you'll be reaching for this jacket it looks like it will bring some zip to an outfit :)
11/7/12 9:02 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is darling Barb! I love it on you!
11/7/12 9:24 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I adore this jacket on you! The fabric is lovely, lovely. Your sister did good when she gave that fabric to you. I have 3 non-sewing brothers. :( (ha)
11/7/12 9:26 PM
chenille said...
Great job on the jacket and these are really your colors. another fab project!
11/7/12 9:49 PM
BlossomKyle said...
That jacket looks *so* RTW!!! Great job!!
11/7/12 9:50 PM
CorgieMom said...
Can I have it when your ready to pitch it? Lovely!! The colors look great on you. Great match of fabric and pattern.
11/7/12 10:20 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Nice! I think you'd look great in those wide pants, too. Why do they scare you?
11/7/12 11:11 PM
velosewer said...
Now that you've made the jacket, you should be brave enough to tackle the trousers. Nice plaid choice and placement too.
11/7/12 11:16 PM
PattyE said...
I got this pattern for the pants. The jacket is great!
11/7/12 11:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
I love this on you...it looks super cute including the color. I swear, my mom had a jacket like that, too. Doesn't it make you feel warm and fuzzy thinking back on it?
11/8/12 0:47 AM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review for a great jacket.
11/8/12 4:08 AM
Margaret said...
Great classic-looking jacket! Very nice plaid!
11/8/12 5:37 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Stripes were well placed and matched. Looks like an especially good jacket for MN .
11/8/12 6:44 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a surprise-another Burda with poor instructions! You've obviously overcome that and come up with another winner. What a jacket wardrobe you must have!
11/8/12 6:53 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Really sharp looking jacket! Love your style!
11/8/12 9:49 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - the plaid you used is lovely and all the decisions you made are right on. I bet you will get a lot of wear out of this
11/8/12 10:05 AM
marec said...
Oh my, this is way cool. I too have memories of a Pendleton jacket from Mom. Your version is so current and pretty on you. I like the open collar and with the collar up, you will be cozy. Nice work and very helpful! View A calls to me for summer.
11/8/12 10:38 AM
Barbara V said...
What??? You were going to give the fabric away??? It so suits you! The color and plaid look super on you.
11/8/12 3:21 PM
SewWil said...
What a great looking jacket! Good for you for hanging on to the fabric. You found the perfect piece to make with it.
11/8/12 8:12 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your jacket! I had not paid any attention to this pattern before, but will be picking it up today. Yes it looks very like the old Pendleton jackets, but with more shaping. My mom also had one, and so did I (a 1970's version, same cut, but with a neon stripe of chartreuse in peacock and navy. I wore it horseback riding. I loved it and wore it til it fell apart. I am definitely up for another one. This time maybe a slightly more subtle color combination.). Thanks for this review. Now to dig out that Pendleton wool hand-me-down fabric in my stash. . .
11/9/12 8:59 AM
BettyMike said...
What a great looking jacket! Love the fabric, glad you didn't give it away!
11/9/12 3:13 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, FIRST OF ALL, I might have had to SOUGHT YOU OUT and strangled you if you had gotten rid of this fabric -- ha! The PICTURES of you in this jacket are just BEAUTIFUL. These are definitely YOUR colors. And would you believe the VERY FIRST THING I thought of when I clicked on the project photo was "PENDLETON"? This has got to be one of my favorite jackets I've seen this season. I hope you just wear it and wear it and wear it. :o)
11/11/12 3:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous jacket and a fine effort. It looks great on you. It's even more impressive given that the look you've created is quite different from the look on the envelope so you've seen possiblities in it and done your own thing. I am also curious about those trousers and would love to see a review of them. Let's hope someone obliges soon!
12/16/12 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1313
photo
Review by Kay Y on 6/5/07
Read Review

Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9462 Pattern
Burda 9462 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Children's Corner 48
photo
Review by 3girlsmama on 2/24/10
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us