SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6143 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 454 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/12 1:39 PM
Last Updated:11/18/12 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
Your dress looks great. Very nice.
11/18/12 3:56 PM
jlg said...
You look gorgeous in this dress. Great job with it.
11/18/12 4:21 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty!
11/18/12 4:34 PM
cowgirlbb said...
This is a good style for you, you look terrific!
11/18/12 5:52 PM
norie creates said...
Great job on the lace! You look very pretty and love the shoes too!
11/18/12 6:33 PM
Quickie said...
Lovely dress. I like it very much. Your problem witht the neckline might be the type of binding you've used.It's easier done with a stretchable binding, eg folding elastic In a few days my LBD. I have stretching lace on part of the back and I'll and I'll pay attention to it more specificly
11/19/12 9:06 AM
Baja Susana said...
This is a lovely dress, I have seen a few dresses this year with a lace laid over a solid lining. Yours is lovely. It looks nice on you as well. Nice use of the lace edging for your hems. You styled the casual look very well. I was wondering how you woul dress it down, nice job!
11/19/12 10:06 AM
Dagmar O. said...
This is a beautiful dress on you and looks to have met the goals of your inspiration photos. I agree with Quickie regarding the neck gaping and the type of binding you used although with your lovely long hair, the neck binding is barely visible!
11/19/12 1:12 PM
velosewer said...
Stunning. Lace is all the rage in Australia too.
11/19/12 6:02 PM
wendyrb said...
Well done- I'd love to have this dress. I think it will be fun to play around with it for daytime. I'd try a black or beige sweater with pushed up long sleeves and a v-neck so the lace peeks out like a cami. Have you tried it with dark hose and flats or boots? Enjoy your wonderful dress and Happy Birthday!
11/26/12 2:16 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! Looks very nice with the jacket too!
12/4/12 7:10 AM
Aroura said...
Really gorgeous! Very classy, and a really good look on you.
12/4/12 3:47 PM
newmama said...
You look beautiful! I love the silhouette of this dress, and though the fabric may not have been perfect to work with, it looks perfect in the results.
12/29/12 7:01 AM
SarahRoseSews said...
I made this pattern, used cotton fabric and purchased bias tape for a 'muslin' I had hoped to be wearable, and I also had an awful time with the neckline of this dress. My dress is unwearable due to the neckline; it is too wide on the shoulders and shows undergarment straps in addition to gaping. My experience also was that the bodice had too much ease. Thanks for your review, I now know it was not just me.
2/19/13 11:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

brerrabbit.com SC-30

photo
by: Carol Till...

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6000

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review

Pattern