SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1332 (Misses' Jacket)

Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/14 10:46 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1332 by miausiau

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1332
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Fabric:Wool Coating  [See other projects in this fabric]
Update *this project found it's final resting place in the bin. Has anyone actually made this to completion? What was I thinking?*

Didn't mean for this to reappear in the review gallery, but while reviewing my reviews I came across this "work in progress". I thought I should declare it DOA.

(original wip review)
Here's a spectacularly bizarre design from the new Vogues. There is plenty to wonder about here, but I had loads of cheap coating and a bit of time on my hands.

First off this is a "cut on the floor" type patterns with the main body just 2 huge blobs. I omitted the sleeves to make it more of a cape. This created some problems with the pleating and attachment to the yoke...although I can't say exactly why. The instructions and drawings are NOT very informative! You can see where I had to change the front fold and the old press line is still visible. The puckering really bothers me but I basted in the full facing and this will create more structure and support to minimize this. (Its OUT for the picture) Everything but the main body is interfaced with easy knit fusible. The pattern calls for batting and underlining but I was not about to go that complex route for what may result in a fancy OWL costume!

The armholes seemed to be restrictive so I altered that , although that may have been a result of my not installing the sleeves? I've gone over and over it and may have to concede that they would perhaps not work over a sweater without alteration.

For now I'm out of the olive melton (poly faux) and am waiting on some black to finish the project. Black collar and facing with a matching lining. Once it's pressed and finished I'll have to repost a picture and make a final critique.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jinxbrown said...
Here is a short vid which shows the cape. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_0lTIE7_yA
12/8/14 6:42 AM
jinxbrown said...
I'm very interested in this cape. I've included the a link to the original designers vision. Maybe someone can help disect whats to help me in getting to the original vision. http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/8a/ea/2b/8aea2bb4364f74c5c9ba5ccb2224175a.jpg
12/8/14 6:22 AM
fabricaddiction said...
I second what Baja Susana said!
8/15/14 12:17 PM
acmena said...
Kathryn Brenne made a version of this in the Dec/Jan 2014 Vogue Patterns magazine, using a down blanket as lining!!!
8/15/14 0:23 AM
SJ Kurtz said...
I could not resist this during the cheap Vogue sale last year; I am not sure where I would wear a coat that made me look like a beetle, but I am the sort of person who WOULD, so when 4 yards of 60" wide bug-ready fab falls into my lap, I am so there! Thanks for the insights!
11/21/13 11:59 PM
miausiau said...
This is on hold for now...I'm not very enthusiastic about it. I think in a taffeta this could be much better. I hope someone has some success with this...it really is one of a kind.
12/12/12 3:56 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks so much for taking on this Intriguing pattern. I was so drawn to it for it's uniqueness but wondered if it would be wearable. No need to finish it on my end if you think no more time warrants it but I'll be back to see if you do :) As you said and others here...the pattern photo gets a C- thankfully the line drawing shows the detail but if the instructions have a failing grade then they really need to rethink their instructions...a problem I too have found. But then again with these complex patterns maybe it is hard to describe the construction???
12/12/12 2:28 PM
JoyceP said...
This is a fascinating coat-cape and I look forward to your finished garment! Looking at the line drawings at Vogue's site provides a better feel, for me, of how this garment evolved: simple straight up and down coat with an integrated cape - ingenious, no? If it were me, I think I'd want to emphasize that "side of the coat" line, i.e. the fold that falls naturally to the side. A crease there, or a strip of the black... it would help my "outline" since I'm rather too much owl-shaped myself ;-)
11/27/12 10:59 AM
hmacski said...
I'm so excited to see someone taking this pattern on! I'm looking forward to seeing the finished product and hearing about how you resolved the difficulties mentioned in your review thus far.
11/27/12 9:32 AM
Baja Susana said...
I have a great idea! Let's all get in it and see how many can fit inside a cape, then send a photo to Vogue. The pattern photo shows nothing! Your review tells the story. Actually the silhouette looks like a cocoon, comforting and cozy, but it is as you said spectacularly. I am curious to see it after you tweak it again.
11/27/12 8:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Burda 9702

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 4044

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now