SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1332 (Misses' Jacket)

Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 322 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/12 5:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
I have a great idea! Let's all get in it and see how many can fit inside a cape, then send a photo to Vogue. The pattern photo shows nothing! Your review tells the story. Actually the silhouette looks like a cocoon, comforting and cozy, but it is as you said spectacularly. I am curious to see it after you tweak it again.
11/27/12 8:21 AM
hmacski said...
I'm so excited to see someone taking this pattern on! I'm looking forward to seeing the finished product and hearing about how you resolved the difficulties mentioned in your review thus far.
11/27/12 9:32 AM
JoyceP said...
This is a fascinating coat-cape and I look forward to your finished garment! Looking at the line drawings at Vogue's site provides a better feel, for me, of how this garment evolved: simple straight up and down coat with an integrated cape - ingenious, no? If it were me, I think I'd want to emphasize that "side of the coat" line, i.e. the fold that falls naturally to the side. A crease there, or a strip of the black... it would help my "outline" since I'm rather too much owl-shaped myself ;-)
11/27/12 10:59 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks so much for taking on this Intriguing pattern. I was so drawn to it for it's uniqueness but wondered if it would be wearable. No need to finish it on my end if you think no more time warrants it but I'll be back to see if you do :) As you said and others here...the pattern photo gets a C- thankfully the line drawing shows the detail but if the instructions have a failing grade then they really need to rethink their instructions...a problem I too have found. But then again with these complex patterns maybe it is hard to describe the construction???
12/12/12 2:28 PM
miausiau said...
This is on hold for now...I'm not very enthusiastic about it. I think in a taffeta this could be much better. I hope someone has some success with this...it really is one of a kind.
12/12/12 3:56 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I could not resist this during the cheap Vogue sale last year; I am not sure where I would wear a coat that made me look like a beetle, but I am the sort of person who WOULD, so when 4 yards of 60" wide bug-ready fab falls into my lap, I am so there! Thanks for the insights!
11/21/13 11:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6111

photo
by: lamstu

Review
McCall's 6348

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now