SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Betsy Ross #003 (Wide Leg Pants)

Viewed 1877 times 
Reviewed by:sewkal
photo

 
 
About sewkalstar
Member since: 8/11/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/05 8:12 PM
Last Updated:4/1/05 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Thanks for the detailed review. Especially the tip about the darts.
2/18/08 4:45 PM
girl_in_bleue said...
Thanks for the review! I've read it several times while deliberating over buying this pattern. I'm looking for a nice wide leg pants pattern, and I keep coming back to your review. I've finally decided to buy this one.
8/13/05 10:13 AM
Jazzirie said...
Your pants look wonderful. you really did a nice job.
4/4/05 8:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
The fit of these pants is just wonderful. Great job.
4/3/05 9:18 AM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I loved this website, too. I'm a sucker for the packaging (website formatting) as well as the clothes. Love the dress pattern, and your pants are very cool. I'm currently a size 14, however. I'm working on it...
2/1/05 2:25 PM
KathleenS said...
I really like the look of this website too (I'd never seen it before either, thanks for bringing it to our attention), and you say some good things about the pattern, and thanks for the feedback about the not so good things. However, the largest size is a (pattern) size 12! It seems a bit biased towards model sizes. I really like the dress and top though.
2/1/05 5:31 AM
CatherineN said...
You did a first class job of fitting these pants. They look so good on you.
1/31/05 4:25 PM
Skymom said...
Your pants came out really nicely--and you inadvertantly ended up learning something great about fitting darts. There are many people who say don't ever use the darts marked on the pattern, but form your own to fit YOU. Thanks for reviewing this; I was curious about this pattern line.
1/31/05 2:57 PM
kbrock said...
Thanks for the great review and for bringing another independant designer to my attention...I really like those pants...and the dress is awesome too...I may need to order both!
1/31/05 12:32 PM
AnneM said...
Your pants came out great. It sounds she takes feedback such as yours seriously, & I bet new editions of this pattern will have those missing marks. 1st time I've heard of this pattern line. Looks like a very promising new (at least to me) line. I wish the website included better pattern pics & drawings, though. (Tonia - check the pattern picture link; it brings you to the website.)
1/31/05 6:53 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
These are great pants. Where can I see more of these patterns? Is there a website?
1/31/05 6:27 AM
ClaireC said...
Very nice pant. Thank you for reviewing and letting us know about a new pattern company. I just ordered the dress and pant. I couldn't resist. ;o)
1/31/05 5:09 AM
chocobar said...
I LOVE the line of these pants, and they look fabulous on you. I think I want some too. Although the patterns on the website are charmingly fashionable and whimsical, I felt the pattern info was kind of skimpy. The drawing looked quite different from your pants (IMO, anyway) and the picture really didn't show how they looked at all. I liked the picture, but it did not show the line of the pants at all. It seems a shame, because they are really cool pants! (And I want some too!!!)
1/30/05 10:14 PM
Levone said...
Your pants look great.
1/30/05 10:00 PM
sewkal said...
Leslie- Yes! They are cut like the Madison pants :-)
1/30/05 9:37 PM
Denny1600 said...
I really like the look of the pants, too. I'm proud of you for sticking with the challenge and figuring it out. I really like it when you get a pattern that works well for you. NOw that you have the bugs figured out, other versions of these pants should be a breeze.
1/30/05 9:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great pants, Courtney! Way to go for making it through, in spite of the pattern's missing info. Which cut of Ann Taylor pants are those like? (Finger's crossed that you say the Madisons....) Thanks for introducting us to Betsy Ross patterns.
1/30/05 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

More Info
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

More Info