SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2759 (Shirt dress)

Viewed 526 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 216
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 206
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 8:27 PM
Last Updated:11/28/12 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said... (1/21/13 8:32 PM) Reply
Fantastic-looking, perfectly fitted, and so flattering! I'm impressed that you made it up so quickly. You've become a Marfy expert! Though you said that you don't intend to make this again, this classic style is such a wardrobe staple; I think you should consider making another, perhaps in a print? With all the alterations you make, the great fit you achieve, the beautiful sewing job, using terms like "turn of the cloth", and the fact that you are sewing patterns that lack instructions and for which you are drafting pieces, why do you rate your skills as intermediate?? Thanks for the review!
Elizabeth made this said... (12/2/12 7:58 AM) Reply
Pinstripe anything always looks so classy, and it's such a whimsical choice here in such a ladylike dress. The contrasting buttons really bring it all together.
BillieJean said... (11/29/12 2:14 PM) Reply
Gorgeous dress!
BettyMike said... (11/29/12 10:31 AM) Reply
What a fabulous dress! Very sharp look! Your review is great, so detailed and well written. Thanks!
Sewiing Sue said... (11/29/12 10:07 AM) Reply
Your guideline is very helpful: If you've done a a dress with darts and shirt with front facings you can handle this dress. I like the bodice detail on the pattern. Kudos on the execution!
cleverkitty said... (11/29/12 8:14 AM) Reply
really sharp, love the way it looks on you...
wendyrb said... (11/29/12 1:05 AM) Reply
I've never made a Marfy yet, but your beautiful and beautiful on you results are inspiring. Even better, your review is so thoughtful and encouraging, I imagine this is something I could handle. Love the way you timed yourself- sewing + dinner + animal care = dress done.
SewWil said... (11/28/12 10:20 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! I like the contrasting buttons.
Immelu said... (11/28/12 10:11 PM) Reply
Wow, that looks great!! You have the fit perfect!
Re Becca said... (11/28/12 9:20 PM) Reply
That looks stunning on you, your alterations really make it look even more fabulous. I agree with you about the facings, sometimes Marfy skimps a little on the facings. I have this pattern and you are really inspiring me to make it up. FWIW, it is very slimming and I LOVE your contrasting buttons.
61sew4fun said... (11/28/12 9:14 PM) Reply
Love the buttons, they really make the dress, and your fit id great.
SewRaeMe said... (11/28/12 8:31 PM) Reply
OMGosh kudos to you for doing all those alterations but it looks like your effort paid off, very nice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-108

photo
by: liliv

Review