SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2012-118 (Side Gather Cowl Dress)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 777 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 9:47 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review, Trena. Love your dress and your styling options. Good luck.
12/5/12 2:54 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress -- basic but with great details! Nice fit too!
12/4/12 9:15 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous!
12/3/12 3:09 AM
mochimo said...
The dress is beautiful and the fit is great. I'm glad to see that it worked even if you changed the grainline because I have a similar dress (also Burda) in muslin stage since last December. I did not like the skirt on the bias. I think I will try to change the grain and see if it looks better.
12/2/12 9:34 AM
Baja Susana said...
How was your breakfast at Tiffany's. The store as a backdrop is a nice touch. This dress fills the bill and you have styled it well.
12/2/12 8:08 AM
crazygrad said...
supernice!
11/30/12 5:04 PM
Quickie said...
Style is exellent for the purpose
11/30/12 4:32 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for showcasing this great pattern. Its such a nice restrained cowl. You've put your collage together beautifully, i especially like the Tiffany backdrop!
11/29/12 10:23 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review. I like the how you've styled this dress to fit any occasion. Cute and classic.
11/29/12 12:35 PM
4u2cme said...
Your LBD is lovely! Your reviews are always so helpful and very detailed.
11/29/12 1:25 AM
norie creates said...
Super cute and love the neckline origami : )
11/28/12 11:14 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great job! This is a super pretty dress.
11/28/12 9:06 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute and versatile LBD. Love the TX version!
11/28/12 7:38 PM
cowgirlbb said...
I think you look better than the model on the pattern. I like it without the sleeves as well. You did a terrific job.
11/28/12 4:29 PM
SewWil said...
Lovely LBD! The fit IS excellent and looks great on you. Love the orange tights and boots.
11/28/12 3:23 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Beautiful dress and very flattering! The day and night looks are perfect.
11/28/12 2:21 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Lovely dress! I may have to get this pattern now. The cowl neckline and side ruching make for a much more interesting LBD
11/28/12 1:46 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this on you! This has to be just about your perfect LBD!
11/28/12 1:20 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Very very nice. Love this - what a nice style 0 the lines are just designer!
11/28/12 1:11 PM
Levone said...
Great version of this dress!
11/28/12 1:04 PM
mnitts said...
Stunning work
11/28/12 12:59 PM
Nan Kay said...
Love the Texas orange and cowboy boots!!! Great dress.
11/28/12 12:56 PM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! It fits you like a glove and looks fantastic!
11/28/12 12:43 PM
clothingengineer said...
Love this! I am dealing with a similar curve in the back and I get the best results when I take out the excess fabric from the side seam of the back piece only instead of the darts.
11/28/12 11:06 AM
frame said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review is really terrific.
11/28/12 11:04 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress and looks gorgeous on you...the fit looks perfect! Thanks for the great review!
11/28/12 10:22 AM
61sew4fun said...
I love your LBD and your collage of photos. The dress is classic and fits you so well. Good luck in the contest.
11/28/12 10:07 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are ready for any occassion with that LBD!
11/28/12 10:05 AM
CissieW said...
Perfect LBD! Looks wonderful on you and I love the boots with it!
11/28/12 10:01 AM
redrockcity said...
Gorgeous. It does look fantastic with the gold shoes too. The little jacket is pretty spiffy as well!!
11/28/12 10:00 AM
redside said...
What a beautiful dress! I love the fit on you. Although I don't wear dresses, this might be nice to have in the closet for a special event.
11/28/12 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-1994-128

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now