Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Style: 2940 OOP (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 348 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 2:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I think it's really nice on, Margaret ;D And especially neat to being adaptable to other looks!! Great--and funny--review ;D
11/28/12 4:05 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great! Well worth the effort you went to with the fitting. It looks great with the different jacket combinations - especially the Folkwear one
11/28/12 4:15 PM
cowgirlbb said...
Looks to me like you did a great job. This dress certainly can be worn for many occasions.
11/28/12 4:18 PM
jannw said...
You look so good in that dress!! Definitely worth the alterations!! Love all the jackets with it, also.
11/28/12 4:26 PM
Renren said...
You are fabulous in this dress! Wow! Great entry and review.
11/28/12 5:06 PM
mmcp said...
It is a very funny review, particularly because I looked at the photos before reading it and thought--ok, is this a pattern to go hunting for? I've really been wanting a plain, fitted basic black dress. Clearly, it is not, but your results are terrific!
11/29/12 6:00 AM
goal100 said...
You look great! (Which I think means that whatever you're wearing is complimenting YOU!)
11/29/12 7:48 AM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you for your thorough review. Great dress.
11/29/12 8:56 AM
sewnotwork said...
Looks good. Thanks for detailed list of alterations and photos. I wonder how French darts are adjusted for women who are petite.
11/29/12 11:44 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much! mmcp, I hope there's an easier to find similar pattern out there, that would ideally have a more appropriate fit for a wider demographic... just don't know of any off the top of my head. Sewnotwork, I try to keep the lengthen/shorten line on the side part of the front level with the one that goes across the center, if that makes any sense... if you fold the dart closed and draw a line across where a normal L/S line would be, that should generally work OK. Burda envelope patterns are sometimes better about including all the L/S lines than some other brands.
11/29/12 1:17 PM
Quickie said...
Dress style is very well chosen
11/30/12 4:34 PM
crazygrad said...
NICE-- so classic!
11/30/12 5:15 PM
Ladana said...
You win the prize for versatility. You have achieved so many looks. Great job!
12/1/12 12:01 PM
Baja Susana said...
Very nicely made and your styling is well done as well.
12/2/12 8:03 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Such a versatile dress, and the neckline is really a pretty choice on you.
12/2/12 8:12 AM
cerulean said...
You really look great in it! It's great that it is so versatile too! It's good that you were able to make the adjustments.
12/4/12 10:19 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, this dress looks SO cute in EVERY WAY that you've styled it. I LOVE it with the jackets. I'm going to try a STRAIGHT skirt (or dress) with jackets (or as "straight" as it can be on me) because, like you said, it seems like I never do like jackets with flared skirts. :o( This is PERFECT!
12/12/12 1:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us