Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 503 (Lingerie Set (Slip & Knickers)) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 201 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:ak21
photo
About ak21starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 6:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Very lovely slip/nightgown. I'm fascinated by the use of the word "knickers" in this vintage Butterick pattern whose image is shown at your blog. I'm very curious about the copyright date of this old pattern! Beautiful color of fabric, too.
1/12/13 8:12 AM
ak21 said...
Hi Renren, this is something I meant to mention on my blog. I cannot see any date on the pattern AT ALL. The most I can see is Butterick of London. I am very curious as to when this pattern was printed myself. I might have to do some investigation with Butterick!!
1/12/13 9:03 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful slip! I actually bought an old pattern recently that resembles this slip. I would like to make it for my future sister-in-law. Seems to be the new thing for a Bride-to-be (lingerie parties, that is). That, and a nice robe. Very cool to get a Vintage pattern passed down to you :)
1/12/13 9:06 AM
ak21 said...
Ive updated my blog with the details on the pattern regarding its date. I kinda like that its a bit of a mystery TBH but my curiosity is a bugger too.
1/12/13 9:14 AM
style inspired said...
lovely! Based on the hairstyles on the illustration, I'm guessing it's from the 1940s. Do the knickers have a snap closure?
1/12/13 9:28 AM
Renren said...
ak21, I was actually going to ask if it was Butterick for the U.S. or a European printing, and I did not because I thought, Butterick is U.S. Well, there you have it . . . Butterick of London. I was very curious about the word "knickers" which I associate with either England or Australia OR U.S. people of a much older generation. Thanks for the response. And I do think those gusseted knickers look very comfy!!!
1/12/13 9:43 AM
brissie71 said...
Stunning! I liked the link to your blog, too. Lots of interesting reading!
1/13/13 2:43 AM
ak21 said...
@styleinspired - the knickers have 3 buttons down the side however you could indeed use snap closures. I might try these considering there is so much interest....I just fear to model them :)
1/18/13 4:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Neue Mode 23279 AvantGarde
photo
Review by Beek on 3/20/10
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 203 Pattern
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3024
photo
Review by SewingMrsC on 10/18/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 3823 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us