SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5153 OOP (Fast & Easy Misses Blouse)

Viewed 203 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/13 6:06 PM
Last Updated:1/22/13 9:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Butterick: 5153 OOP by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Nice classic shirt! I agree that the sleeves and shoulders look more current on the 5052 but I suppose the extra freedom of movement on this one may come in handy.
1/28/13 1:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classic, comfy, and versatile! Thanks for your review-I have this pattern somewhere in my stash. You have the knack of achieving a fine fit.
1/23/13 10:23 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking shirt - so chic for riding camels but add pearls and surely you can throw plates!! Very helpful review especially for me who is forever hunting for nice shirt patterns - do agree M5052 is a better fit but this too is a really nice looking shirt. Like RenRen I own 5052 but not this one so will stick with it - for now
1/23/13 11:46 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for the honest review. I do love a camp style shirt and your finished piece looks great. Terrific save.
1/23/13 9:23 AM
cocosloft said...
You got me with the fabric - love it! and thks for the review and alternate suggestion :-)
1/23/13 6:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Well it might not make your favourites list but it is still darn pretty and that fabric needed to see the light of day.
1/23/13 0:50 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Very helpful review distinguishing between patterns, identifying features I might not have noticed. Good sense of humor and great gallery of photos, especially you on an elephant in a very pretty shirt!
1/22/13 10:49 PM
Mufffet said...
You know I love the fit on you It looks a bit shorter and more fitted in the body than usual for you and I love that fabric.
1/22/13 8:54 PM
miausiau said...
I agree that the 5052 is the best...however this is some pretty fabric and a nice fit.
1/22/13 8:29 PM
Renren said...
Good to know you prefer the 5052 over this pattern--especially since I own the 5052 but not this one. I don't know about camels and tents but most of your fabrics have me longing for a hammock on a white-sand beach with an iced beverage at hand. Caribbean blue water, too, please, with the gentle lapping of waves.
1/22/13 8:27 PM
jenleeC said...
I am glad this fabric finally escaped the stash to venture out and go camping! While it will look very stylish sitting astride a camel, viewing your two shirts side by side I would agree that the M5052 has a nicer line.
1/22/13 7:14 PM
mm said...
You could have a lot of fun in a shirt like that. It looks smart and cool and comfortable.
1/22/13 6:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Make Bra DL01

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Favorite Things L005

photo
by: Donel

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now