SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7790 (7790)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2327 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 2:25 PM
Last Updated:12/27/05 3:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy Russell said...
I just have to ask if you are now sold on the quote "treat yourself to a halfslip inb prewashed silk...."I have a slip pattern and will be making one by spring.
2/9/05 0:11 AM
Gloria Allender said...
Don't you just love the feel of silk against your skin?! I'm so happy that you indulged yourself. Let us know how the camisole turns out.
2/9/05 10:00 AM
Irene Q said...
Kathy, I haven't had a chance to wear it yet, so I'm still undecided. It's certainly prettier than my old tricot version! Hope to have a photo soon.
2/9/05 2:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Irene Q - you sure have been busy and everything looks great. I need to get out of my slump and get busy. Thanks for the inspiration.
2/27/05 2:55 PM
drsue said...
Irene: I'm planning on making a slip with some leftover silk but don't have a pattern. Is this cut on the straight grain or the bias? Thanks.
2/27/05 3:13 PM
Irene Q said...
Dr. Sue, this slip is cut on the straight grain, as are all the pieces in this pattern except the teddy which is on the bias.
2/27/05 4:18 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your slip is so pretty! I hope that you love wearing it.
2/27/05 4:47 PM
BjP said...
Very lovely - I forgot what it's like to wear a slip, but this looks wonderful!
2/27/05 5:01 PM
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said...
Thank you for telling me about the lace. I am picky about the laces I will use, and it would be a shame to start and find I need more yardage because what I have isn't quite what the pattern calls for.
2/27/05 8:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Irene - this is really pretty! Duh type of question - but is it washible on the delicate cycle?
2/28/05 7:09 PM
Irene Q said...
Peggy, I prewashed the fabric on delicate, and intend to keep washing it by machine. It would probably last longer with hand washing, though. You can find lots of talk about this on the boards, too.
3/1/05 8:14 AM
SewVeryTall said...
So pretty, Irene! The lace really gives a feminine touch, and I like the way it is also on the slip's slit. Now something I'm really really curious about...it appears that there is no elastic in the legs of the panties, and I think I just might like that a lot. Have you had a chance to test drive them yet, and if so, do you like them without leg elastic? I'm bookmarking your review so I remember to come back and see your answer :)
12/28/05 5:50 AM
blue mooney said...
Oooh, silk undies! I hope you're enjoying them, they look so luxurious. I also wonder about what seems to be the lack of elastic on the panty legs. Can you elaborate, please?
12/28/05 6:49 AM
guillorypr said...
Very pretty! I also make all my own slips, and they are so nice! A neat trick for Dharma silk is to buy some dye and you can dye their silk yourself. You get lovely colors!
12/28/05 9:13 AM
Irene Q said...
Re: the panties - there's no elastic on the legs, and the pattern is for woven fabrics and is not cut on the bias. I think you call this style tap pants but they're also a lot like men's boxers. :-) I've worn each pair once and the second, longer pair was especially comfortable under jeans. They're very "breezy" and really didn't ride up or bind like I expected. I made these on a whim, just so I could get an extra point in the stash contest, but they turned out to be practical as well as very pretty. If you need lots of air circulation in hot weather, like I do, give them a try!
12/28/05 9:31 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the reply with extra info, Irene! I'm definitely going to try 'no leg elastic' on my favorite thigh highs. I guess I imagined having to 'tuck them in' as I pulled my jeans on...but if they are cute, cool, and comfy in wearing, that's the important things.
12/30/05 2:33 PM
blue mooney said...
Thanks very much for the additional info. You've inspired me!
12/31/05 7:12 AM
janella said...
very pretty. I just made this pattern.
10/24/07 2:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: minggiddyl...

Review