Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Merckwaerdigh BHS10 (Bras) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 1702 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 56 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/13 9:42 PM
Last Updated:1/14/13 1:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
74 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skye said...
Absolutely beautiful
1/13/13 9:57 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Beautiful bra wardrobe! You have made some beautiful variations here by changing the fabric! I am not sure I am ready to join the bra making fraternity yet though!
1/13/13 10:02 PM
Laurasews said...
Wow! Love the pattern and all of your interpretations. Great job!
1/13/13 10:04 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, those are all fantastic!!!!! Thanks for posting the detailed review!
1/13/13 10:57 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, those are all fantastic!!!!! Thanks for posting the detailed review!
1/13/13 10:58 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Beautiful bras! I love that you added some detail information about each fabrication. I, too, have this pattern and have made this view 2X. It's a very well-fitting bra. Thanks for your detailed review.
1/13/13 11:10 PM
velosewer said...
Wow. Can I put my order in please? You've done an impressive job. You're an inspiration.
1/13/13 11:23 PM
Renren said...
Oh, my gosh, they are so wonderful! I love them all!!! I can't even begin to say which is my favorite. Fantastic job sewing and great review of the pattern. I can imagine getting tired of sewing all those little fiddly pieces together but you did hang in there long enough to create several really great bras with their own personalities. What a great way to kick off the new year (sorry about that heat wave you are suffering through).
1/14/13 0:25 AM
jannw said...
So Beautiful!!! What a fantastic collection!!! Congrats...
1/14/13 1:09 AM
Lhan said...
Kia ora treefrog. I too love making bras, but have difficulty locating patterns. It is great to get the details on this one, and your products look fabulous. I totally agree about the time-consuming nature of the making, but they must be the most tricky engineering that making clothes presents! Thanks very much for posting this very helpful review.
1/14/13 1:20 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous collection and thank you for the detailed review.
1/14/13 1:24 AM
Mazzygirl said...
these might have been a large investment timewise, but it has certainly paid off. All are absolutely gorgeous, the spot & swimsuit bra being my favourites. well done!
1/14/13 2:03 AM
chenille said...
WoW! Absolutely gorgeous work. Holy cow over 8 days??? Love all of them.
1/14/13 2:50 AM
Margaret said...
Very pretty -- wonderful collection and nice job on all the matching! Great variety of colors. I recognize some of the laces from ELingeriA. :)
1/14/13 3:00 AM
jenleeC said...
Wow, very impressive! I hid inside and sewed too but didn't end up with such an awe inspiring result!
1/14/13 3:13 AM
Elona said...
What gorgeous flimsies, as my European father in law used to say. It's a really lovely collection
1/14/13 3:19 AM
HDWen said...
Stunning collection and what a detailed review! Love how you gave each one something special and showed the bits and pieces. Tremendous Job and great pattern details.
1/14/13 5:52 AM
annakeeton said...
This is a beautiful collection!
1/14/13 6:03 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous!
1/14/13 6:34 AM
sugarduck said...
What a beautiful collection of lingerie! I am so impressed with how professional these look. Great job!
1/14/13 6:54 AM
Sigrid. said...
What a stunning result. Love to see all these variations on this pattern and want to start sewing more of these myself at once. Must be a coincidence that I have this pattern on my sewing table right now ;) I have a hard time deciding which fabric/lace to use next, but now I know: just start and sew several. Yours look all beautiful!
1/14/13 7:11 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Oh my goodness. It looks like a Victoria's Secret catalog! What truly gorgeous work and care in documenting and photographing your collection. Good luck in the contest.
1/14/13 7:11 AM
KateS said...
Amazing and beautiful! I hope if I ever attempt bra making mine will be half as good!
1/14/13 7:16 AM
squirrellypoo said...
HOLY CRAP. I am so, so impressed with these! I've made several bras, with varying degrees of fitting success, and not only are yours beautiful, but that they fit as well is a real accomplishment! Bravo! You've definitely got my vote.
1/14/13 7:56 AM
RLL said...
I agree with Jstarr...looks like a Victoria Secret ad. So pretty!
1/14/13 7:59 AM
wildbluestarz said...
Love these! You are my bra-sewing superhero!
1/14/13 8:43 AM
JTink said...
I'm speechless...these are beautiful.
1/14/13 9:52 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Thanks for the peek at all the construction, I've always found lingerie a somewhat daunting project for some reason. Your work is beautiful, and you've spurred me on!
1/14/13 9:52 AM
cerulean said...
They are incredible! Each of them is absolutely lovely! I love the variety!
1/14/13 10:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
Lucky, lucky lingerie drawer that gets to house these beauties! Great work! What a gorgeous selection of bras!
1/14/13 11:10 AM
mnitts said...
Wow wow wow! Sooo impressed. Well done.
1/14/13 11:37 AM
sewingsilly said...
WOW!! Well done!! Thanks so much for this detailed review showing all of your fabric choices, cut pieces and trims! Love them all!
1/14/13 1:38 PM
sewpelican said...
Congratulations, wonderful collection, and a positive way to deal with heat! Your detailed review is excellent, thanks for taking the time and troubleI once made a Booby traps bras, yours are so professional and tailor-made too.
1/14/13 2:38 PM
Jill Giard said...
Stunning! What a great wardrobe and each one is so different.
1/14/13 4:06 PM
colormefun said...
8 days!? I'm in awe! Maybe you should upgrade your skill level to expert :)
1/14/13 5:43 PM
sewing for fun said...
Your bras are wonderful! Beautiful AND fun, designer custom-made and comfortable, too. Once I have a bra fit perfected, I often find I can sew them faster than I can shop for one... but not with all the fancy lace bits. I also like to use a nice pima cotton cut on the bias to get a wider selection of prints.
1/14/13 6:15 PM
JanJanB said...
WOW! Absolutely fantastic. Well worth the time invested. thanks for such a detailed review.
1/14/13 7:20 PM
goosegreen said...
These are fantastic and your review is great. You won't have to make any more bras for quite a while! You're gonna be hard to beat in this contest. ;)
1/14/13 8:37 PM
Carolyn.S said...
Wow! You've done an absolutely amazing job.. these are all so beautiful!! Stay cool :)
1/14/13 9:58 PM
Kayseri said...
These look lovely - but gosh all that fiddly sewing! You've done an amazing job of the of fabrics, laces and layout.
1/15/13 0:55 AM
treefrog said...
Wow! Thanks for all the lovely comments and the tips from the more seasoned bra makers. Thanks!!!
1/15/13 1:55 AM
fourkid said...
Brilliant. No other words suffice.
1/15/13 8:11 AM
loti said...
I so need to come to your house so you can show me how to make these. Fabulous, I can't even pick a favorite.
1/15/13 8:11 PM
aonori said...
Wow treefrog, you're awesome! The fabric choices are amazing & your craftsmanship is superb.
1/16/13 3:09 AM
butterflyfly said...
Wow! Fantastic job!
1/22/13 10:04 AM
JanElise said...
WOW! just WOW! and in 8 days. I love this review; it is almost a tutorial. If I ever decide to try my hand at lingerie, I will reread this review. They are all just lovely!
1/22/13 7:24 PM
StudioCherie said...
I have a feeling I will be shipping a duffle to Australia soon...Inspiring review. I was just thinking this morning about bra shopping. Maybe I will just sew them now instead.
1/23/13 12:03 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Holy bra-ness! I must admit that I have not yet wanted to make bras, but these may change my mind! Every single one is gorgeous! The montage is pretty impressive too - what did you use to make it?
1/23/13 12:11 PM
Chris Bryant said...
Amazing work. You did a great job and the bras are fabulous.
1/25/13 7:33 AM
treefrog said...
Connie - I used paintshop to do the photo. Basically, I clipped/resized each of the photos to be a similar size (640x640). Then created a new image and set a snapping grid with a 640 width. Then copy/paste the individual over which snap into the grid easily. Then use the same snap grid to add the lines ( think the pen width was about 5 or 10). Finally, resize to a smaller 800x800 image. The snapping grid really speeds things up as you don't need to manually fine tune the placement of the photos or lines. Hope that helps. Let me know if you need more detail.
1/27/13 3:47 PM
leoniep said...
Fantastic collection Treefrog! Enjoy wearing them!
1/28/13 5:53 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful bras! It's a shame that they have stay covered. ;)
1/29/13 0:29 AM
BeaJay said...
Wow - I have bra envy. You certainly have sewed a great collection of beautiful bras. The ones that come in my size look like hospital bandages! And I don't think they sell the supplies strong enough for my size to make myself some pretties LOL! Yep - bra envy for sure.
1/29/13 9:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
8 days! Totally awesome, TreeFrog! Your bras are truly gorgeous and wonderful work on these.
1/30/13 9:27 PM
Quickie said...
I have from the beginning admired your bra collection Stunning and it must give you a feeling of luxury
1/31/13 3:35 AM
Aroura said...
Wow...all I can say is Amazing!!!!
2/1/13 1:41 AM
Bonnie O said...
I am amazed by your entry! The bras look fantastic and how nice to have so many options from which to choose every day.
2/1/13 9:11 AM
Danette in PA said...
Gorgeous! I wish I had that many cute bras.
2/1/13 3:02 PM
Baja Susana said...
Beautiful! You have my vote!
2/3/13 4:57 AM
Raye Ann said...
ummm, WOW! wonderful!
2/4/13 5:50 PM
lsteaples said...
OMGOONESS these are BEAUTIFUL they also look store bought, and some seem better than I have seen in the store!!!!! great wright up on each also !!!!!!!!!
2/5/13 8:02 AM
kiddo said...
Brilliant!!! Love your variations and review.
2/5/13 11:18 AM
vondalin said...
Wow! These are amazing! Fantastic job.
2/5/13 2:31 PM
lyndle said...
You're a legend! Fabulous. You deserve to win this contest!.
2/5/13 2:43 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Quote: "I'm a bit over sewing fiddly things for the moment. " LOL I guess so! These are great! Almost makes me think I might have a go at bra making. Love the way you placed the scallops on the side cup piece.
2/8/13 6:12 AM
BeaJay said...
Congratulations on winning the contest. You deserved to win. Great job,
2/11/13 9:37 PM
Clareew said...
What a well deserved win. Beautiful, inspiring work.
2/20/13 4:46 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Congratulations on your well-deserved contest win. Upon second look your bras are even more beautiful.
2/21/13 8:18 PM
Fabricgurl said...
Wow just what I'm in need of. Great Job and Congrats on the win you deserved it!!!!
2/22/13 5:21 PM
MissCelie said...
This is AMAZING!!! Great job.
2/23/13 10:17 AM
landstromd said...
Oh My WORD! These are fantastic! Thanks for sharing your remarkable talent and creativity.
3/6/13 12:07 PM
JanetLikesToSew said...
Wonderful job - well done! Could you tell us where you source your fabrics? thanks!
3/6/13 5:13 PM
treefrog said...
@JanetLikesToSew - Most came from Elingeria as a specific order or in one of the "grab bags". The storm blue lace, apricot lycra and lace were in the grab bags. The bikini top, spot and pale blue were bought locally.
3/14/13 9:44 PM
JDpenelope said...
Just seeing this! You will have beautiful bras for quite awhile. If you run out, you know what to do during the next heat wave.
11/11/13 1:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us