SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5425 (Lined Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 613 times 
Reviewed by:Viviette
photo

 
 
About Viviette
CA USA
Member since: 1/13/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/13 3:09 PM
Last Updated:1/16/13 12:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pamscott said...
That is just beautiful. :0)
1/14/13 3:18 PM
karen n said...
Very storybook and wonderful! fyi - I don't think your review is linked to the pattern. Maybe the "B" in front of the # is throwing it off?
1/14/13 4:01 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat and congrats on your 1st pattern review.
1/14/13 4:06 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous coat! The piping was a great idea.
1/14/13 4:14 PM
lauraborealis said...
Gorgeous!
1/14/13 4:26 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautiful!
1/14/13 4:35 PM
catty said...
That is absolutely gorgeous.
1/14/13 4:53 PM
Viviette said...
Yay! Thank you, everyone! Karen N., Thank you for the tip! I fixed it, it seems to be linked now.
1/14/13 6:35 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful. You look great in it.
1/14/13 7:20 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous coat!
1/14/13 9:37 PM
KG2 said...
That looks amazing!! Great job!
1/14/13 10:48 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
gorgeous coat! I just love it!
1/14/13 11:50 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful coat! Great job.
1/15/13 0:18 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful, great review
1/15/13 3:14 AM
SavageCoco said...
Outstanding workmanship!
1/15/13 4:02 AM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
1/15/13 6:57 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautiful!!!
1/15/13 8:06 AM
mending maven said...
Wow! Great workmanship and love the lined hood giving that pop of color around you face. Wonderful
1/15/13 8:07 AM
ThreadsofFaith said...
Simply breath taking!
1/15/13 8:14 AM
lbrundage said...
absolutely amazing. It's such a romantic coat!
1/15/13 9:35 AM
JudyMac said...
Gorgeous!
1/15/13 10:08 AM
usbeckers said...
WOW. Very nice.
1/15/13 11:37 AM
Silknmore said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Congratulations
1/15/13 11:46 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely!!!
1/15/13 1:30 PM
bigalsgal said...
i agree with everyone- this is beautiful!
1/15/13 1:41 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful job on this gorgeous coat!
1/15/13 4:04 PM
tigergirl said...
I am speechless, what a stunning coat. Despite the "easy & great for beginners" tag, I doubt that I'd even contemplate it.
1/15/13 4:11 PM
charid dawn said...
Great job. Workmanship looks spotless. I can't imagine this being a great beginner project, especially with them modifications. Your garment looks better than the one on the package.
1/15/13 4:41 PM
margy.64 said...
Your coat looks so professionally made. It's absolutely gorgeous and you wear it like a professional model. Fantastic work.
1/15/13 7:16 PM
Karen Easter said...
I love what you have done with this pattern!
1/15/13 10:58 PM
Karen Easter said...
Do you have a picture of the back?
1/15/13 10:58 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! You really altered the pattern to make it your own. How did you remove the extra sleeve cap ease?
1/15/13 11:53 PM
Viviette said...
Thanks so much, everyone! I guess I tagged it as "Easy" based on the original pattern, not my modifications. The pattern is listed as "easy to make" on the envelope, and I think that it would be pretty easy for a beginner coat. Princess seams are easier to modify for shape, and it doesn't have any welt pockets, ect. that are more advanced to make. @Karen Easter, I do, but I'm not sure how to load more than one photo to the review? Sorry, still learning about the site. :) @Becca A., I did it a fast and dirty way because I had already cut the self fabric - I lowered the sleeve cap height at the top by about an inch and reshaped the cap down to the notches. The next time I make the coat, I will recalculate the sleeve ease and change the pattern.
1/16/13 12:17 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful creation! Very boutique-worthy!
1/16/13 1:14 PM
PattyE said...
Wow, great job on this!
1/16/13 4:50 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful work!
1/16/13 4:59 PM
Claverie said...
You must be proud. What a beautiful coat!
1/16/13 6:02 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely perfect :-)
1/17/13 2:49 AM
sugarduck said...
This looks like a beautiful costume from a 1940s technicolor film. I LOVE the pop of red in the hood's lining. Beautiful coat!
1/17/13 5:18 AM
sewrose said...
You and that coat are gorgeous!
1/18/13 6:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now