SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7447 (Misses Pants)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1065 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 354
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 353
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/13 10:32 PM
Last Updated:7/23/14 1:52 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 7447 by Lori V

Burda: 7447 by Lori V    
Pattern Photo:Burda 7447
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Current Tags:
Updated 7-23-14
I made another pair of these fabulous pants using Mood Fabrics' black-white Italian Cotton. This time I used the leg cut of Burda 6981. I am so happy to have a pant pattern that fits and looks good. The fabric was easy to sew. One thing I would change was I sewed the welt pocket bags using black quilting cotton, you can see this black cotton a bit under the welt. Next time, I will use the fashion fabric for a bit of the pocket bag which might show.
More pictures on my blog

Original review:
Updated 2-7-13 for red version.
Made these pants wide leg. Used Italian suiting from Mood Fabrics.
Check out several pictures on my blog

Original picture can be found here
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted Pants, probably more fitted than semi-fitted.
Pattern Sizing: Size 8 - 20. I made the 12 (38) which is what I make in most Burda patterns.
Instructions: They were good, especially for Burda. I even followed their welt pocket instructions, took a couple of read-throughs but I grasped the concept. Plus, this is the first ever pant welt pockets, I have sewn and the are even!
The instructions went in a nice order, easy to understand and follow.
Changes: I made none this first time. I think for the next time, I might make them shorter, like to wear with flats. I did not add length and I need to wear heels with this pair. I was getting funny wrinkles in the front, around bottom of the zipper. I pulled out my fitting book, one thing they said was the hem was too long. I folded up the hem and no more wrinkles. Easiest fit fix ever.
Also, I might use a size 10 for the back of the pants, they are a bit loose. See if that helps the problem.
Fabric: A stretch denim from Hobby Lobby, not crazy at all about the fabric or the look but it worked for a muslin, which turned out wearable.
Conclusion: A classic style of pants, that fit great without any alterations.

More pics on my blog
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GBK said...
Nice fitting pants! Would have never thought these were a wearable muslin, thex look RTW on you.
1/19/13 1:55 AM
Maree P said...
They look great Lori. I think this is a great pattern...I have made three pairs now ...and I think there may be more. Looking forward to seeing your next pair.
1/19/13 4:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful looking pants, your pockets right out of the box look professional. I want to make more blouses too! Love the pictures on your porch.
1/19/13 9:14 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely -- great work. :)
1/19/13 9:32 AM
French.Seam said...
Good tip about using a smaller size for the back legs: I've just had the same problem with Vogue 8774
1/19/13 9:53 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice job on these great fitting pants!
1/19/13 10:25 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice! They look better on you than they do on the pattern envelope. They look lovely.
1/19/13 11:54 AM
JanJanB said...
Love these on you! Great job on the welt pockets. I just finished cutting these out.
1/19/13 12:36 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful pair of pants and an amazing fit!!!
1/19/13 12:51 PM
becca a said...
Great pants and beautiful welt pockets!
1/20/13 9:55 AM
meggipeg said...
Those look blinking fantastic, much better than the pattern picture!!
2/7/13 5:31 PM
Elona said...
What a smashing outfit! The pants look superb on you.
2/7/13 8:24 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! How did I miss your original post? Your pants look terrific.
2/7/13 10:51 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome pants! Love the color!
2/8/13 1:39 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Nice fit!
2/8/13 6:17 AM
grays08 said...
You've done a great job with your versions of this pant. I would love to find a TNT for me and need to hit up the Burdas for sure as they have great pants!
2/8/13 1:04 PM
margy.64 said...
Great looking pants. The fit is excellent.
2/8/13 8:38 PM
slmstyle said...
Great pants! I made a skirt from this same Italian cotton fabric from Mood & I LOVE it! Love your doggie too ;)
7/23/14 3:27 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking pants!
7/23/14 6:01 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh these are cute! I will have to check out these patterns you used! Pants are so much fun to make and wear!
7/23/14 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8669

photo
by: pegsewer

Review