SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Style> 1021 (1021 OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1310 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/05 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Portia Hirschman said...
Harriet: whose pattern is this? Looks like a Burda that I have. You did a great job!
2/11/05 2:23 PM
drsue said...
I love it!! I want one!!! So sad that Style is defunct. I loved their stuff.
2/11/05 3:43 PM
CSY said...
You look fabulous in that coat. I love it. The colors are beautiful.
2/11/05 5:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great coat. You look so cozy and warm. Love the color on you.
2/11/05 7:55 PM
SewingSusan said...
That is a lovely coat. I have oodles of double-sided fleece and I'd love to do something like this. What do you mean by "double-rolled"?
2/12/05 7:31 AM
AnneM said...
Nice coat. I wonder if Simplicity has a vesion of this (since they picked up some of the Style patterns).
2/12/05 8:46 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for all the comments. Portia, I think Burda does have a coat that looks like this. The company, Style, was bought by Simplicity (or Simplicity owned it and closed it), but I do think some of their patterns are now part of Simplicity. Sewing Susan: I didn't explain this very well. Basically, I just folded the inside (the other color) to the outside twice to give the border a rolled look. Couldn't be easier. The other thing to to is roll an inch or more over and just turn under 1/4 of an inch. Looking forward to seeing some of your double-sided fleece made up!
2/12/05 2:54 PM
babydoll said...
hello harriet thank you for posting this review - the coat looks fabulous. please could i ask what sort of pockets this coat has - are they in seam or cut into the front? i am keen to know how to make a nice pocket in a fleece material but can't find any information on this in any of my polar fleece books. regards ruth
3/8/05 2:25 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Babydoll: the pockets are just set into the seams (like pant pockets) One piece on each seam: sew together. Super easy, and it turns out, they're warm, too! I used polar fleece on both sides, but there's no reason that you couldn't have one side the polar fleece and the other side, a lining fabric. I kind of like the fleece on both sides, and I didn't find it added any bulk. Looking forward to seeing your coat!
3/9/05 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now