SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle
photo

 
 
About Sewingellestarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews: 100 (patterns: 100)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said... (2/10/13 10:19 AM) Reply
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
prostheticsgirl said... (2/10/13 8:54 AM) Reply
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
msschiel said... (2/10/13 6:41 AM) Reply
I think it looks great!
BrendaJoyce said... (2/10/13 5:27 AM) Reply
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
lamstu said... (1/29/13 3:12 AM) Reply
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
ChristmasHills said... (1/27/13 11:08 PM) Reply
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
Sewingelle said... (1/27/13 8:51 PM) Reply
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
yummymummy38 said... (1/27/13 6:24 PM) Reply
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
miausiau said... (1/27/13 5:48 PM) Reply
Crossover V necklines are apt to gap...how about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 8353

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review