SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle

About Sewingellestarstar
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews: 106 (patterns: 106)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
21wale said... (2/10/13 10:19 AM) Reply
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
prostheticsgirl said... (2/10/13 8:54 AM) Reply
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
msschiel said... (2/10/13 6:41 AM) Reply
I think it looks great!
BrendaJoyce said... (2/10/13 5:27 AM) Reply
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
lamstu said... (1/29/13 3:12 AM) Reply
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
ChristmasHills said... (1/27/13 11:08 PM) Reply
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
Sewingelle said... (1/27/13 8:51 PM) Reply
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
yummymummy38 said... (1/27/13 6:24 PM) Reply
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
said... (1/27/13 5:48 PM) Reply
Crossover V necklines are apt to about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Pattern Details
Simplicity Vintage 2948

by: guineveres...