Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2286 (Marfy jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 447 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo
Friend of PR
About Re Beccastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/13 9:25 PM
Last Updated:4/16/13 5:12 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That is a fabulous jacket!! Love the color, the stitching at the shoulders, the zipper, the lining, yeah, just everything! Thanks for the leather tips... If I ever sew leather, I'm going start with this review!
4/15/13 11:02 PM
Jessica Dean said...
I am so amazed! You did a WOW job on this!!! I am speechless....
4/15/13 11:54 PM
Lynn WA said...
WOW! It looks fabulous...and I can see why you carry that 'mandatory accessory' around! Kudos!
4/16/13 1:10 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Jacket perfection! This must be the next step beyond "advanced". What you've done with this beautiful colored leather is nothing short of amazing. Congratulations on an excellent review and enjoy all the compliments on your jacket.
4/16/13 7:09 AM
Dianne22 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket and beautiful job creating it. The details you included like the choice of zipper and lining, to say nothing of the quilting, have made this a real designer jacket. You'll enjoy the fruits of your labor for many years to come.
4/16/13 7:49 AM
Jrhee said...
I would seriously never take this off! Thanks for all the helpful links and leather source. I haven't tackled a leather project yet, but aspire to.
4/16/13 9:54 AM
ArtAttack said...
It's stunning. I LOVE the color. Will you make me one?
4/16/13 10:09 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what a fabulous jacket Rebecca!! Still sewing Marfy! Love it!!
4/16/13 12:04 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful. You did a marvelous job.
4/16/13 1:44 PM
portercs said...
I love everything about this jacket. It looks great on you!!! Thank you for sharing.
4/16/13 5:24 PM
Sue Parrott said...
WOW! I love your jacket! I love this so much and I think I must order one of those mugs!
4/16/13 7:28 PM
PattyE said...
Fab jacket!
4/16/13 8:27 PM
BeaJay said...
FAB jacket - love the quilting and the colour. You have done a spectacular job with this.
4/16/13 9:21 PM
potlady said...
Gorgeous jacket and very informative review. What kind of sewing machine and needle did you use? Can't wait to see your next leather project.
4/16/13 9:37 PM
Re Becca said...
Potlady, I used a Janome 6600 for the quilting (for the walking foot) and a 90/14 leather needle, for the rest of the sewing I used my old elna su air electronic. The walking foot is great for topstitching and quilting, but it really didn't handle the extra layers any better than my old machine. Thanks for the nice compliments, I really love this jacket! Well worth all the effort.
4/16/13 10:56 PM
cleverclogs said...
Oh this is lovely, and your comments and blog are really helpful. If I ever get the courage to work with leather I'll certainly come back to your advice.
4/17/13 1:15 AM
mnitts said...
Wow agree with what everyone has written here...beyond advanced sewing. Stunning work and great review!
4/17/13 2:58 AM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket! You did a superb job!
4/17/13 9:33 PM
blue mooney said...
magnum opus! This has got to impress the pants off of everyone who sees it.
4/18/13 9:18 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous Jacket I love it!!! Excellent review :)
4/22/13 5:56 PM
Fictionfan said...
Wow! Just Wow! So are you finally going to stop calling yourself an intermediate sewer? If a STUNNING, COUTURE, QUILTED, LEATHER JACKET isn't advanced, even expert, what more do you need to be able to do?? GREAT review! And you really do need that mandatory accessory...
6/15/13 8:45 PM
amynxdx said...
amazing!
8/27/13 10:45 AM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful jacket, and an excellent job executing the finish! I found your review because I was wondering if anyone made Marfy patterns...your review is the first I've read, and I'm so encouraged by it and I look forward to trying my first Marfy! It just may be this pattern ( if it's available). I have been looking for an attractive, "different" look for a leather jacket. I FELL IN LOVE when I saw yours...and, I LOVE the modifications you made!! Also, thanks for all the references!
9/6/13 9:06 AM
TJSEWS said...
I just came across your review of this jacket. Your jacket is spectacular!
1/8/14 8:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-124
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 7/24/11
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1059 MISSES' PANTS
photo
Review by kidmd on 10/7/12
Read Review

New Look 6777 Pattern
New Look 6777 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us