Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2154 (Misses/Petite Blouse, Skirt, Jacket and Cardigan) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 539 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:JetSetSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About JetSetSewingstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/13 12:03 PM
Last Updated:6/2/13 11:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Beautiful work on your Chanel jacket! I'm sure it took a lot of time and attention to detail to do, but the results are really lovely and couture. And the fabric...swoon! Where did you get the Chanel tweed, are the materials and notions all from eBay?
2/9/13 1:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty, I love your mix of colors. Totally gorgeous! I would love to see a shot of you wearing it.
2/9/13 1:53 PM
N_Vogue said...
Stunning! All the details, the fabric took my breath away, the lining, etc. Just Stunning!!!
2/9/13 3:12 PM
KathleenS said...
It really looks the part! I like the way the tweed pattern ends up being diagonal on the sleeves (due to the kimono sleeves).
2/9/13 6:04 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks ladies! I'll have to get my staff photographer/hubby to take a pic with me in it. I found the Chanel tweed at Elliottbermantextiles.com, and the lining on Emma One Sock. The chain is from beadaholic.com. I put together a pinterest page called "Make Your Own Chanel Jacket" with links to sites I used as research. Also posted info on this and another jacket on Craftsy.com under "tvjulie" since I was inspired to do the jackets after I took Susan Khalje's Couture Dress class on Craftsy.com. I HIGHLY recommend that class!
2/9/13 6:25 PM
JetSetSewing said...
I got the trim at a shop in Paris, and while I was there met a male dressmaker who said he worked at Chanel. He and the saleswoman were gossiping in French about how much haute couture Chanel suits cost, and the start at 40,000 Euros, which is $65,000! So I didn't feel so bad having spent 100 hours on this jacket. I've seen the Chanel ready-to-wear jackets ($5,000+) at consignment shops, and they're not quilted like jackets made with this technique. So needless to say I'm pretty pleased with myself! But mostly I enjoyed the research and knowledge that came from working on this.
2/9/13 6:31 PM
becca a said...
Your Chanel jacket is beautiful. They are truly a labor of love! Your fabrics are lovely together. I am sure you will love wearing it.
2/10/13 11:03 AM
Amiejean said...
Wow. It's a dream of mine to accomplish a jacket like this. Thanks for sharing. Wonderful accomplishment.
5/10/13 4:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us