Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7735 (Coat, jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 296 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/13 1:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rutaliet said...
Oh, yours is so much nicer than the pattern photo. What a GREAT looking coat. You did such a fabulous job. All of the work shows !
2/9/13 1:41 PM
rutaliet said...
BTW, waiting to see the motorcycle jacket version. You MUST make one.
2/9/13 1:41 PM
ArtAttack said...
OOOH! You DO deserve a completion party! What a fabulous coat...inside and out. Super great reveiw, too. Dang, I wish it was cold enough here to warrant that time investment. You will have this for years to come. Fits you like a glove! Great work!
2/9/13 1:46 PM
Jrhee said...
WOW!! This is an amazing coat!!! I'd endure many stinkeyes if this is the result!
2/9/13 1:50 PM
SewWil said...
Definitely throw a "coat is done" party! You deserve it! Your coat looks wonderful. I love everything about it. Great job!
2/9/13 2:32 PM
cleverkitty said...
Great Review and yes it's black LOL which makes for a handsome classic coat but with so much style. The cuffs are my favorite along with the back tab belt. The fit could not be better. Time to change your skill level to advance, so much went into this coat you can't see. Love all the pictures too. I am Happy with your achievement too :) ps:the bound buttonholes is so much easier the way you did it.
2/9/13 2:45 PM
Immelu said...
FANTASTIC COAT!!!!!!!!!!!! Great job!
2/9/13 3:32 PM
Renata said...
10,000 photos but I bet it looks even better IRL. Totally amazing.
2/9/13 5:27 PM
sew2little said...
Congratulations--what an accomplishment. We are moving to colder climes in a year or so, and I already have my fabric ready for a coat. Yours will be my inspiration. You achieved great fit!
2/9/13 6:28 PM
nancy2001 said...
Bravo! What an achievement --your coat turned out beautifully and you learned an amazing amount. Congratulations on creating a true sewing masterpiece. This is definitely advanced level sewing.
2/9/13 7:05 PM
SavageCoco said...
Outstanding! I'm thinking "cocktails" after this baby was finished! You rocked it!
2/9/13 7:30 PM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations on a wonderful project! Fun to read your review and follow along. Maybe you received the stink-eye from your family a time or two, but I bet you gained much personal satisfaction and reward from the adventure! Looks great on you!
2/9/13 8:31 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, wow, wow! This is so beautiful! Great workmanship!
2/9/13 8:36 PM
21wale said...
This is a beautiful coat, especially the back view, strangely enough. The back looks so trim and neat. Very nicely done! No doubt you'll have many more chilly days to make use of it!
2/9/13 8:57 PM
susanbanks said...
Love the lining, I wasn't expecting that as I scrolled though the photos. Amazing coat. Well worth the effort.
2/10/13 3:23 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
That is one great coat! I feel like flying to MN and throwing a party for you! I also looked at all of the pictures. Bravo!
2/10/13 7:49 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous coat! You did an amazing job with the fitting and top stitching. I love your method for bound buttonholes. I will have to try that soon.
2/10/13 10:31 AM
chenille said...
Gorgeous inside and out! Definitely deserve a party for this one. Thanks for all the pictures and details! Such a perfect fit - congrats again :)
2/10/13 10:50 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
I am in AWE. This coat looks like a million bucks on you! It looks like fine RTW in the $1000+ range. It truly is a gorgeous thing, fits so well and just smacks of good taste and style. Well done! (I can't believe you even matched up the lining pieces - I love those surprise linings). Amazing and wonderful.
2/10/13 10:55 AM
lamstu said...
What a beautiful coat! You should be proud of your accomplishment.
2/10/13 9:09 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- gorgeous, impeccable work. I agree with Nancy, this is advanced level work.
2/10/13 11:29 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, this coat looks great! Really nice fit and I LOVE all the buttons!
2/11/13 12:09 PM
simplystitches said...
Barb that looks fabulous! The fit is spot on and the detail to the finishes make a simple coat spectacular! Well done. Now throw a party.
2/12/13 9:57 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Beautifully done. Fits as well as any Downton Abbey coat could possibly fit, and it's NOT over fitted (see the fitting discussion posts for the explanation of those comments). Congratulations!
2/12/13 8:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5844
photo
Review by Janiki on 7/18/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8778
photo
Review by Alania on 11/24/05
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3145 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3145 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2340 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )
McCalls 2340 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us