SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

97 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:MariannaSew2Pro
photo

 
 
About MariannaSew2Pro
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/12/12
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:2/16/13 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elke said...
Looks very pretty on you and nice color choice!
2/16/13 8:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
I understand how you feel but it certainly doesn't look homemade to me. I've had this pattern a long while and have never felt called to make it. Yours is really cute.
2/17/13 0:13 AM
kias2 said...
It looks great on you, and I am sure you will wear it a lot. As for the bra straps showing, on mine ( yes, along with many others, I also have this top!) I have added those little ribbons with safety pins on the shoulder seam to hold in place. Works a treat.
2/17/13 3:27 AM
MNBarb said...
I think this pattern should be voted the most difficult to wear. You've done a nice job with it and chose the proper fabric. It's very loose fitting and a challenge but you do look very good in your version.
2/17/13 8:04 AM
Fran G said...
I like the look on you! When I made mine, I had to put tucks in the back...5/8" on each side. (total 1 1/4"). shoulder to hem.. to remove fullness and so it would stay up on my shoulders! French seaming was a challenge in the front areas so I used a regular seam on part and simply hand overcast. IMHO, think it's an easy style to wear but a hard style to make. Love the casualness of it..good job..you look chic!
2/17/13 9:03 AM
VivianZ said...
I like your top in black. I always have the shoulder strap problem, so I just started making shoulder strap guards. Snaps and bias tape, it's easy. You can also buy them and just sew them in.
2/17/13 1:48 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Thank you all so much! You've given me the confidence to go out and wear this with pride! Will definitely put in some strap guards.... seems very little extra time and a lot of time saved fiddling.
2/17/13 3:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me in a slouchy, bohemian sort of way. Re bra straps, may I suggest getting a strapless bra. I've just got one for the first time (to wear with a muumuu with shoulder straps) and it works remarkably well.
2/17/13 5:23 PM
bella.dani1 said...
i love that skirt you paired it with! the top looks fantastic
5/18/14 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2603

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now