SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8889 (Men's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 459 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/13 1:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A nice crisp-looking shirt and a perfect fit. Well done.
2/17/13 2:30 PM
PattyE said...
Great looking shirt!
2/17/13 2:50 PM
MNBarb said...
Love the shaping with the side pieces. What a perfect, slim fit. Your shirt looks like it needs a trip to the Bahamas with its airy-ness.
2/17/13 4:08 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, looks great!!!! You've got a keeper with this pattern!
2/17/13 4:47 PM
Sarsez said...
Well worth the effort in the end. Excellent shirt! I agree, it's a keeper!
2/17/13 4:58 PM
magoe6217 said...
Great looking shirt and love your high tech (to me) slide presentation. Thanks.
2/17/13 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
Another perfect fit for you - great work as always and now you have created a TNT pattern for yourself
2/17/13 6:05 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful collar, fit and fabric. Wow.
2/17/13 7:16 PM
Acient3 said...
great shirt,great fit, your blog always makes me laugh
2/17/13 7:20 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks Peter for this excellent review. The time and effort you undertook on the adjustments was well worth it ....you have a great looking shirt.
2/17/13 9:57 PM
Elke said...
Great looking shirt and a perfect fit! Looks terrific on you.
2/17/13 11:20 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone!
2/18/13 1:06 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Inside collar band fabric very nice detail. I like the whimsey.
2/18/13 8:04 PM
Margaret said...
Great looking shirt and great fit. I love how the hidden placket and visible seams look with this fabric.
2/19/13 4:31 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great looking shirt! Sounds like the perfect pattern for making shirts for my husband, for whom I have spent 30 years slimming every shirt he buys to fit his skinny but broad-shouldered body. All patterns until perhaps this one were just as bad. I'm impressed that you found so many drafting errors, though! Thanks for this review.
2/20/13 5:27 PM
Hansrob said...
I am just finished my first construction with this pattern and it is indeed quite fitted, rather than loose, and the shoulders are very wide indeed. I might have to redraft and redo, or simply take sone of the nice feature (button placket and sleeves opening are quite nice) with V8759 which fits me a lot better.
3/16/13 11:41 PM
SewRusty said...
Thanks for the review! It sounds like my hubby may be the perfect candidate for this shirt, being the tall, broad shoulder, slim waist/hip type. :-)
4/15/13 7:49 PM
Princess Aurora said...
Great job! Can't find shirts that well made OTR!
4/18/13 0:11 AM
slmstyle said...
What a wonderful shirt you have created! I greatly admire your skill and expertise. I'll have to try this one as it may be a good fit right out of the envelope for my broad shouldered, small waisted husband. Thank you for all of the very useful sewing and fitting information on your review and your blog.
5/29/13 1:58 PM
slmstyle said...
:)
5/29/13 2:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Colette Patterns Taffy

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review