SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5558 (Wing Collar Empire Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 807 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/13 9:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Wow! Great knock-off :) Impressive! I like how you have both dresses shown, very cool :)
2/26/13 10:03 AM
Fabric Hog said...
Love the photoshoping on the photo! And you did a great job of explaining how you got there. Good job!
2/26/13 11:21 AM
MaryDB said...
L thedress;looks terrific on you. I am especially impressed with the invisible zipper - boy that hot pink zipper doesn't peek out at all. Nice work!
2/26/13 11:23 AM
Mufffet said...
O.K....AWESOME! This is SO cute and well suited to you, and the fit is excellent. Such a nice job of creating your own pattern.
2/26/13 12:07 PM
Quickie said...
Nice flattering dress
2/26/13 12:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Amazing reproduction, just fabulous. I LOVE the brocade
2/26/13 12:26 PM
Nan Kay said...
This is so worth all of the work you put in to it! Excellent review, as usual, and a super great dress!
2/26/13 12:29 PM
slmstyle said...
Great job on your knockoff and all of your detailed pattern and sewing work. Thanks for the great review as well!
2/26/13 2:03 PM
Terri A said...
Super detailed review - love it! The dress is outstanding and perfect on you.
2/26/13 2:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Very wonderful dress, great knock-off and a super flattering style on you.
2/26/13 3:50 PM
mm said...
Great review and great dress.
2/26/13 5:03 PM
Sharon1952 said...
That is one beautiful dress and so flattering to your size and coloring. Nice fabric choice.
2/26/13 6:01 PM
carolynw said...
Really fabulous dress and great review
2/26/13 6:29 PM
mochalover said...
Great knock-off!!! And I love the dress, it looks great on you.
2/26/13 7:07 PM
Wino said...
Looks great! That's a beautiful color for you.
2/26/13 7:11 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Fantastic knock off and review. Love how you've photoshopped her next to you on the sidewalk.
2/26/13 7:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Yes! You nailed it! Great job and super helpful review! Good luck in the contest!
2/26/13 8:07 PM
SewWil said...
Wonderful job knocking off this dress! Your dress turned out great. Thanks for the detailed review. I always appreciate the time you put in to writing your review.s
2/26/13 8:43 PM
sewnotwork said...
It's a lovely dress. Well done!
2/26/13 11:04 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
wonderful clone. Yours looks nicer with the fabric used. You did wonderful on the photo chop also. Thats a gift in itself.. Good luck on the contest.
2/26/13 11:19 PM
wimmie said...
great review, lovely dress. quite becoming on you.
2/27/13 2:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review and impressive knock off!
2/27/13 6:34 PM
ManiMayor said...
I love your version, the neckline is great and the sleeves are indeed super flattering. Good call on choosing the brocade. I think it has a better hand than the fabric in the original. You've got my vote!
3/4/13 1:33 PM
GwenH said...
Nice knockoff. $1870 savings, lol. Looks great on you.
3/5/13 12:34 PM
ElizabethDee said...
This is beautiful and so flattering. Wonderful work!
3/6/13 7:42 AM
trishapatk said...
It's very charming in a nice, understated way. The color is very flattering with your coloring too. I enjoy reading your reviews, the little comments such as the one about Butterick "getting sassy in it's old age" are funny. Thanks for another wonderful review.
3/6/13 10:54 AM
Aroura said...
Great job, this knock-off is spot on, and looks great on you!
3/9/13 1:22 PM
sooolution said...
Congratulations!
3/11/13 2:22 AM
Cici Cotton said...
Congrats! It looks great. I also wanted to thank you for putting together info on how to upload photos. Terri A. posted it in the contest discussion. It was a great help. Love your dress and review.
3/11/13 5:33 AM
anne jewell said...
seems like you had fun--and lots of work! a great result.--anne
3/13/13 5:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now