SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 03-2012-38 (Harrison)

Viewed 53 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/13 8:22 AM
Last Updated:2/25/13 8:24 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
Those are great shorts! Love the use of fabric (and the fabric itself).
2/25/13 9:04 AM
Renren said...
Love the fabric and the bermudas! Your zipper looks great, but what really caught my eye was how perfectly tensioned the threads are going through the buttonhole. My buttonhole threads never look that good! Super job all around.
2/25/13 3:23 PM
Dee2 said...
These are really great--the fabrics are really cute for this style & different prints are used very creatively. Excellent job on the zipper too!
2/25/13 5:20 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks for the great comments :D I love it! @Renren, I usually lay the button down and then a toothpick on top to sew over it with my machine. Then I tie the threads on top together and on back together. At the end I just slide out the toothpick and it's perfect :D
2/25/13 7:25 PM
sunnysewing said...
Oh and if you meant my actual buttonhole-hole lol, my machine does it for me :P
2/25/13 7:27 PM
Renren said...
Oh, no, I meant the holes in the button. I see the confusion and how my comment wasn't clear. Thanks for the toothpick tip. Interesting! I'll try it. Is it a flat toothpick or a round one, if you don't mind all these questions. I'm just naturally inquisitive.
2/25/13 8:29 PM
sunnysewing said...
LOL it's a round toothpick. Sorry I had to laugh. I don't know if I've ever seen a flat one. When I lay it on top of the button I make sure my needle doesn't hit it - line it up in the center of the holes - the needle should bop on either side if your stitch width is right on. Then I let the machine do the work a few times and that's it :D I much prefer the wood toothpicks in case I happen to knick one with the needle. I tried using a metal embroidery needle at first.... not a good idea
2/25/13 11:41 PM
Mufffet said...
How cute! :)
2/26/13 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Butterick 5707

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review