SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 03-2012-38 (Harrison)

Viewed 55 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/13 8:22 AM
Last Updated:2/25/13 8:24 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
How cute! :)
2/26/13 10:09 AM
sunnysewing said...
LOL it's a round toothpick. Sorry I had to laugh. I don't know if I've ever seen a flat one. When I lay it on top of the button I make sure my needle doesn't hit it - line it up in the center of the holes - the needle should bop on either side if your stitch width is right on. Then I let the machine do the work a few times and that's it :D I much prefer the wood toothpicks in case I happen to knick one with the needle. I tried using a metal embroidery needle at first.... not a good idea
2/25/13 11:41 PM
Renren said...
Oh, no, I meant the holes in the button. I see the confusion and how my comment wasn't clear. Thanks for the toothpick tip. Interesting! I'll try it. Is it a flat toothpick or a round one, if you don't mind all these questions. I'm just naturally inquisitive.
2/25/13 8:29 PM
sunnysewing said...
Oh and if you meant my actual buttonhole-hole lol, my machine does it for me :P
2/25/13 7:27 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks for the great comments :D I love it! @Renren, I usually lay the button down and then a toothpick on top to sew over it with my machine. Then I tie the threads on top together and on back together. At the end I just slide out the toothpick and it's perfect :D
2/25/13 7:25 PM
Dee2 said...
These are really great--the fabrics are really cute for this style & different prints are used very creatively. Excellent job on the zipper too!
2/25/13 5:20 PM
Renren said...
Love the fabric and the bermudas! Your zipper looks great, but what really caught my eye was how perfectly tensioned the threads are going through the buttonhole. My buttonhole threads never look that good! Super job all around.
2/25/13 3:23 PM
morzel said...
Those are great shorts! Love the use of fabric (and the fabric itself).
2/25/13 9:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
McCall's 5388

photo
by: sandramary

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

More Info