SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1314 (Misses' Dress)

53 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 1273 times 
Reviewed by:kealoha
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kealohastar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/11
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:2/26/13 3:37 PM
Last Updated:2/26/13 4:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
LOVE IT! The fabric choices are perfect. It was a smashing idea to use the lining part of the pattern- I'm not sure I would have thought of that! Of course I hate that you have no hips though!
2/26/13 4:16 PM
kealoha said...
Thank you ConnieBJ! I would absolutely kill for some hips and curves! But thank you for the compliment :)
2/26/13 4:26 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is so awesome!!! I love the way you worked polka dot fabric in. I like yours better than the original.
2/26/13 4:38 PM
kealoha said...
Oh wow. Thank you so much blessedtosew! One of the things I cried about was not finding a white on black cheetah print, so that makes me feel so much better about the polka dots.
2/26/13 4:50 PM
Dee2 said...
I really like your version better than the original! Love your fabric choices & placement & the dots really are a great addition.
2/26/13 4:52 PM
kealoha said...
Thank you Dee2!!! You guys are so nice, you're slowly gonna make me love the dots, too. :)
2/26/13 4:55 PM
slmstyle said...
Great job on your RTW knockoff!
2/26/13 4:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
What a knock off!! You did a fantastic job and what a detective getting the picture of the dress back and finding your fabric pieces! Really cute!!!
2/26/13 5:20 PM
Deepika said...
Using the lining pattern was a great idea for this dress.I would have never thought of it! I love everything about this project. Your fabric choice, the fit and of course the photo shoot :)
2/26/13 5:33 PM
Terri A said...
Fantastic dress. Love it!!!
2/26/13 5:48 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely awesome! Hard to tell the original from yours - really great looking dress
2/26/13 6:10 PM
ArtAttack said...
WOW!! This is a showstopper! What a fantastic dress and much cuter than the original! Love your fabric combos! Great job...good luck with the contest!
2/26/13 8:01 PM
Dilliander said...
Wow, a really stunning knock-off, looks just like the original (or better) and great idea to use the lining.
2/26/13 8:30 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous dress!!! Great job on re-creating the Ribkoff dress.
2/26/13 8:44 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I so enjoyed reading your blog post describing the making of this fabulous dress. You had a vision and saw it through to the end. How fun to have your family's help with the photo shoot. Congratulations on a knock out knock off.
2/26/13 9:55 PM
caper81 said...
What a sensational knock-off! Wow! I just went to your blog and girl, I don't think I'd have the patience you did, I'm amazed! Great photo too! Looks like you had a lot of fun! :)
2/26/13 10:03 PM
Erin D said...
Great knockoff-I love the combination of patterns.
2/26/13 10:18 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Perseverance and patience you must have in spades. What a mammoth task but you completed it so fabulously. Congratulations on your wonderful dress. Super matching on the back seam. Actually I can't believe they would advertise their own dress so mismatched! I just love it and I am really glad you are so thrilled with it too. This is why we sew.
2/27/13 2:13 AM
Quickie said...
What a good knock-off
2/27/13 2:22 AM
margy.64 said...
What a fantastic knock off. You should be very proud of yourself. I really enjoyed reading your blog. Best wishes in the contest.
2/27/13 5:47 AM
BMoyer said...
So nice, I couldn't decide which was the model and which was you lol.
2/27/13 6:03 AM
Jrhee said...
Fabulous on you!
2/27/13 9:58 AM
LynnG said...
You did a beautiful job!! Love your little tee-shirt dress too. So cute.
2/27/13 1:24 PM
kealoha said...
I'm so overwhelmed and humbled by your comments. Thanks so much everyone!
2/27/13 2:06 PM
ChristineX said...
Awesome!!
2/27/13 4:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your fabric choices were very good ones. Great knock off dress. Really like it.
2/27/13 6:38 PM
Monte98 said...
I love it! I don't think I would try it..it sounds like a lot of work!
2/27/13 8:12 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great job getting the feeling of the dress you were copying!
3/7/13 0:09 AM
LM2HYD said...
Incredible Knock off! Really well done
3/7/13 5:21 PM
KathleenS said...
Wow. I'm just speechless. Um. I think what I want to say is that it's amazing that you overcame all the challenges involved in making this dress - losing the inspiration photo, placing the seams, 29 pattern pieces, matching the fabrics, doing a photoshoot that looks just like the model... Well done.
3/9/13 6:23 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing knock-off. Your fabric choices are spot-on, and this dress looks fab on you!!
3/9/13 1:20 PM
sooolution said...
Congratulatons!
3/11/13 2:20 AM
Cici Cotton said...
Congratulations! This was a great contest! Your blog and dress are great!
3/11/13 5:25 AM
butterflyfly said...
I'm very pleased you won. You put a lot of effort in this dress and result is awesome! Congratulations!
3/11/13 4:35 PM
kealoha said...
Oh wow! Thank you all sooo sooo soo much! This is very exciting!!!!!!!! :)
3/12/13 1:47 PM
weekendstitch said...
Gorgeous dress! If I saw it on the street I would never imagine it was a knockoff. Congratulations!
3/12/13 6:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-Trento

photo
by: Donel

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now