SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1314 (Misses' Dress)

51 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 1264 times 
Reviewed by:kealoha
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kealohastar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/11
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:2/26/13 3:37 PM
Last Updated:2/26/13 4:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ConnieBJ said...
LOVE IT! The fabric choices are perfect. It was a smashing idea to use the lining part of the pattern- I'm not sure I would have thought of that! Of course I hate that you have no hips though!
2/26/13 4:16 PM
kealoha said...
Thank you ConnieBJ! I would absolutely kill for some hips and curves! But thank you for the compliment :)
2/26/13 4:26 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is so awesome!!! I love the way you worked polka dot fabric in. I like yours better than the original.
2/26/13 4:38 PM
kealoha said...
Oh wow. Thank you so much blessedtosew! One of the things I cried about was not finding a white on black cheetah print, so that makes me feel so much better about the polka dots.
2/26/13 4:50 PM
Dee2 said...
I really like your version better than the original! Love your fabric choices & placement & the dots really are a great addition.
2/26/13 4:52 PM
kealoha said...
Thank you Dee2!!! You guys are so nice, you're slowly gonna make me love the dots, too. :)
2/26/13 4:55 PM
slmstyle said...
Great job on your RTW knockoff!
2/26/13 4:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
What a knock off!! You did a fantastic job and what a detective getting the picture of the dress back and finding your fabric pieces! Really cute!!!
2/26/13 5:20 PM
Deepika said...
Using the lining pattern was a great idea for this dress.I would have never thought of it! I love everything about this project. Your fabric choice, the fit and of course the photo shoot :)
2/26/13 5:33 PM
Terri A said...
Fantastic dress. Love it!!!
2/26/13 5:48 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely awesome! Hard to tell the original from yours - really great looking dress
2/26/13 6:10 PM
ArtAttack said...
WOW!! This is a showstopper! What a fantastic dress and much cuter than the original! Love your fabric combos! Great job...good luck with the contest!
2/26/13 8:01 PM
Dilliander said...
Wow, a really stunning knock-off, looks just like the original (or better) and great idea to use the lining.
2/26/13 8:30 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous dress!!! Great job on re-creating the Ribkoff dress.
2/26/13 8:44 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I so enjoyed reading your blog post describing the making of this fabulous dress. You had a vision and saw it through to the end. How fun to have your family's help with the photo shoot. Congratulations on a knock out knock off.
2/26/13 9:55 PM
caper81 said...
What a sensational knock-off! Wow! I just went to your blog and girl, I don't think I'd have the patience you did, I'm amazed! Great photo too! Looks like you had a lot of fun! :)
2/26/13 10:03 PM
Erin D said...
Great knockoff-I love the combination of patterns.
2/26/13 10:18 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Perseverance and patience you must have in spades. What a mammoth task but you completed it so fabulously. Congratulations on your wonderful dress. Super matching on the back seam. Actually I can't believe they would advertise their own dress so mismatched! I just love it and I am really glad you are so thrilled with it too. This is why we sew.
2/27/13 2:13 AM
Quickie said...
What a good knock-off
2/27/13 2:22 AM
margy.64 said...
What a fantastic knock off. You should be very proud of yourself. I really enjoyed reading your blog. Best wishes in the contest.
2/27/13 5:47 AM
BMoyer said...
So nice, I couldn't decide which was the model and which was you lol.
2/27/13 6:03 AM
Jrhee said...
Fabulous on you!
2/27/13 9:58 AM
LynnG said...
You did a beautiful job!! Love your little tee-shirt dress too. So cute.
2/27/13 1:24 PM
kealoha said...
I'm so overwhelmed and humbled by your comments. Thanks so much everyone!
2/27/13 2:06 PM
ChristineX said...
Awesome!!
2/27/13 4:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your fabric choices were very good ones. Great knock off dress. Really like it.
2/27/13 6:38 PM
Monte98 said...
I love it! I don't think I would try it..it sounds like a lot of work!
2/27/13 8:12 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great job getting the feeling of the dress you were copying!
3/7/13 0:09 AM
LM2HYD said...
Incredible Knock off! Really well done
3/7/13 5:21 PM
KathleenS said...
Wow. I'm just speechless. Um. I think what I want to say is that it's amazing that you overcame all the challenges involved in making this dress - losing the inspiration photo, placing the seams, 29 pattern pieces, matching the fabrics, doing a photoshoot that looks just like the model... Well done.
3/9/13 6:23 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing knock-off. Your fabric choices are spot-on, and this dress looks fab on you!!
3/9/13 1:20 PM
sooolution said...
Congratulatons!
3/11/13 2:20 AM
Cici Cotton said...
Congratulations! This was a great contest! Your blog and dress are great!
3/11/13 5:25 AM
butterflyfly said...
I'm very pleased you won. You put a lot of effort in this dress and result is awesome! Congratulations!
3/11/13 4:35 PM
kealoha said...
Oh wow! Thank you all sooo sooo soo much! This is very exciting!!!!!!!! :)
3/12/13 1:47 PM
weekendstitch said...
Gorgeous dress! If I saw it on the street I would never imagine it was a knockoff. Congratulations!
3/12/13 6:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Burda 7232

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now