Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-108 (knit shirt dress)

Viewed 187 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstarstar
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 118 (patterns: 115)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/13 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said... (3/6/13 1:06 PM) Reply
That is one very stylish dress!
Elizabeth made this said... (3/6/13 1:02 PM) Reply
I went with my usual 32 in the neck and shoulders and 34 everywhere else. If you look at the line drawing, it's completely boxy--to fix it you'd either have to eliminate the back pleat or reshape the side seams.
Danvillegirl said... (3/6/13 5:33 AM) Reply
That fabric is truly perfect for this dress!
mmcp said... (3/5/13 8:07 PM) Reply
It's a really pretty dress--so frustrating when you're not happy and it's so beautifully made! Maybe next time go with a slim slip if it's too sheer? Anyway, I love the pattern on the fabic, and don't think it looks like you're all washed out from the photo, but maybe a scarf at the neck would help if you don't feel it's flattering...
style inspired said... (3/5/13 7:58 PM) Reply
Lovely version. did you make the size according to your measurements or go smaller? I'm asking because my mother made this dress for me as I loved it so much, but was surprised at how shapeless it is when finished. I wear it with a narrow belt. I think the looseness of the dress is a reason why they show it with a wide belt.
Speech girl said... (3/5/13 5:13 PM) Reply
Your dress looks lovely. Thanks for the review.
michellep74 said... (3/5/13 2:18 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! I love the idea of a knit shirtdress!
julibchickadee said... (3/5/13 12:43 PM) Reply
This is really cute! I remember seeing this fabric over on Hart's Fabric awhile ago. I really love how you placed the print on the dress - its very flattering! :-)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8727

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review