SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2013-107 (Cardigan)

9 more reviews
Viewed 556 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/13 5:23 PM
Last Updated:3/6/13 5:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Precision sewing?!!! I'll say. I followed those stripes across to where they meet at CF and then on the back where they march in perfect synchronicity with the sleeve cap and side seams. I am wowed by your work and checked to see if you were advanced (no, intermediate--promote yourself at your discretion, I say). You write masterfully and authoritatively of the sewing process so I feel both instructed but not overwhelmed (although I know I could not reproduce this particular feat you have accomplished). (Yes, Burda does tend towards being boobcentric so the plunging neckline surprises me not in the least!)
3/6/13 5:37 PM
grays08 said...
Thank you Renren - you are too kind!
3/6/13 5:47 PM
twinkle72 said...
I love this! I have some striped, knit fabric that I need to use up, and I like your version so much, I m thinking it just might work. Thank fr the thorough and thoughtful review!
3/6/13 6:17 PM
redrockcity said...
I love this! Thank you for the excellent review!
3/6/13 7:45 PM
rabitgrl said...
Great looking cardigan! Thanks for such a thorough review. I am planning to make this one, and am sure I will be referring back to your review for all its helpful advice.
3/6/13 8:24 PM
marymary86 said...
Looks perfect to me!!
3/6/13 9:14 PM
marymary86 said...
Looks perfect to me!!
3/6/13 9:14 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your cardi is wonderful! I made up this pattern last week and you are so right about going up a couple of sizes.
3/6/13 9:18 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Fantastic looking cardi. Thanks for such a helpful review.
3/6/13 10:17 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful cardigan! This is the first thing I noticed in the Burda Style magazine. Thanks for the detailed review.
3/6/13 10:52 PM
SusiM said...
This is such a great-looking top! Very impressive.
3/6/13 11:21 PM
bennomusik said...
Whoa, this is fantastic! It sounds like it was pretty hard, but your version is so great it makes me really want to try it!
3/6/13 11:37 PM
karen n said...
Love seeing this made up so quickly. This is the 2nd Burda mag I've purchased and for this pattern primarily.
3/6/13 11:49 PM
pdiddly said...
I loved this cardigan when I saw it - thank you for the great review I have made notes. You did a fab job.
3/7/13 3:58 AM
Lori V said...
That looks great.
3/7/13 7:01 AM
olgarosita said...
Your cardigan turned out great! This is the pattern that made me buy this issue, so thank you for the review. Before reading your notes about the front/neck bands, I thought the buttonholes would be the hardest thing, as they are made in a knit :)
3/7/13 9:21 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Too Cute!!! what a fantastic job and love the fitted cardigan style.
3/7/13 9:41 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I'm loving this! That's one of the reasons I bought this magazine. Nice job!
3/7/13 11:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Excellent and extremely helpful review, thanks so much! I've already traced this one out (and I'm naturally a Burda 42) so I'll cut larger seam allowances on this and baste first. Thanks very much for the sizing info, and also for the tips on the front band - lord know how they did those in lace! I really like this in your zigzag stripe, the gathers make the stripes distort really nicely!
3/7/13 11:42 AM
blessedtosew said...
I love that sweater. I am going to purchase the download. It is the perfect cardigan. Thank you so much for your great review. I never make muslins of knits, but I am definitely going to make one for this one due to the waist measurement issue. I really love your striped verison.
3/7/13 12:28 PM
tsedai said...
This is coming up in my sewing schedule! Thanks for the review - now I know to go up a size when I trace it.
3/7/13 4:40 PM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, this is really cute. I have mine traced out but not muslined yet. Thanks for the helpful review. The neckband instructions are really confusing in the magazine.
3/7/13 5:38 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Beautiful job! It looks great and great on you. I made two muslins of these last weekend because the pattern has so much potential. You're right about the bands; inner and outer seams are just way too complicated in such a skinny strip. Buying ready-made trim may be a viable option if self-fabric knit is too uncooperative. Hands down to you for doing all the right things to get yours to work so well.
3/7/13 10:46 PM
carolynw said...
Terrific looking cardi - so well sewn and with fabric that gave you some challenge. I would say this is a definite head turner and so nice to boast of the cost of fabric. Excellent review
3/8/13 12:19 PM
dillyo said...
This is lovely - I think the stripes look super cool in this design with the change in direction from the gathers. Thanks for the heads up about the sizing (will definitely have to grade up) and for the tips about the front bands.
3/8/13 1:53 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous, thanks for your excellent review and a beautiful cardigan!
3/16/13 12:23 PM
MNBarb said...
Am considering downloading this pattern. Thanks for your detailed review. Now I have to decide if I'm up for the challenge of the neck band. Your cardi is very cute.
4/7/13 2:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now