SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6130 (Misses Top with Peplum)

27 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA United States
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews: 304 (patterns: 304)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/13 2:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said... (3/16/13 2:25 PM) Reply
You might not be happy with this but for what's worth I think it looks so cute and nice on you - don't let it go to the back of your closet
Heatherrique said... (3/16/13 11:38 AM) Reply
Thank you everyone for your feedback. To Dynamo and Dressy123: I wonder if the neckline was drafted to be wide.
kim*brown said... (3/15/13 6:37 PM) Reply
Don't you just hate when this happens?! I agree with everyone else, it looks adorable!
dressy 123 said... (3/15/13 5:56 PM) Reply
I am half way through making this top. My last New Look project was a dress with a similar neckline, I have never been happy wearing it because the back neck suffers severe gaposis. I could see from the back pattern piece that this top is similarly too wide in the back neckline. I have taken a total of 2 cm out of the back neckline. Did this by folding 2 small darts in the back pattern piece, equivelent to 4 small darts across the whole of the back neck. Although not yet finished, my test fit seems to have address the gaposis issue.
FreyaStark said... (3/15/13 5:52 PM) Reply
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Getting a precise fit with a fitted top is challenging. If I were you, I would be tempted to find a pattern with a similar look but easier to make. Thanks for sharing anyway.
grays08 said... (3/15/13 4:24 PM) Reply
I'm so sorry you are disappointed with this top because you did such a great job and what a great fabric! Hang in there, definitely a lot of peplum patterns right now to choose from or tweak this one again but you will get a good fit, you are too good of a sewer not to. = )
Mufffet said... (3/15/13 3:02 PM) Reply
I kind of like this!
Barbara V said... (3/15/13 11:29 AM) Reply
The peplum is a lovely and complimentary style on you. I think is looks great on you. Do plan to incorporate some more of these while the fad is in!
Dynamo said... (3/15/13 11:19 AM) Reply
I think the top looks cute too, but I can see the gaping neckline issue that is bothering you. That has happened to me before and I figure I need to spend sometime learning how to correct that fit issue. Perhaps someone will pipe in with suggestions! I do think your top is super cute and the peplum styles suits you. Sometimes we are our own worst critics! Wear it proudly!
SewWil said... (3/15/13 9:57 AM) Reply
Cute top! Sorry you are disappointed with it.
GoodbyeValntino said... (3/15/13 8:43 AM) Reply
The top looks nice Heather! I'd give it another try. Thanks for the review
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

New Look 6108

photo
by: MissMarnie

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Pattern Details
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Pattern Details