SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6278 (misses lined dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 406 times 
Reviewed by:Byrdie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Byrdiestarstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/1/09
Reviews: 115 (patterns: 115)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/13 3:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said... (3/18/13 8:11 PM) Reply
Great statement dress, especially for colour or pattern blocking. Love the bold leopard print. I have made an eyelet lace and blue linen version and one like yours, with a very busy Ponte print centrally, offset by black on the sides. I would made the lining differently, perhaps making the sides into princess seams. I found it best to mark all dots, sew and back stitch to dot then take out dress and slash to the dot, spreading and then pinning the rest of the seam. Very effective pattern, not sure why there are so few reviews of it here...
imsewcrazy said... (3/17/13 10:49 AM) Reply
Love your dress and you look absolutely FABULOUS!!!
Sixtiesgirl said... (3/17/13 10:43 AM) Reply
I like your idea about sewing the points. I found making those same points in the lining quite tedious also! I have made this dress twice since it is a very popular style among the young women in my life. Would like to make one for myself! Love your black and white fabric choices.
Danvillegirl said... (3/17/13 8:33 AM) Reply
Love your dress. I have had this pattern forever and even have the fabric to make it up. You have inspired me to give a go and move it up on my sewing list.
jlg said... (3/17/13 6:34 AM) Reply
What a fun dress.
ChristmasHills said... (3/17/13 0:54 AM) Reply
Your dress is lovely, I really like that print with the solid colour. Nice. Good tips too.
SewWil said... (3/17/13 0:45 AM) Reply
Fun dress! Thanks for the tip about sewing the points.
Fully Busted said... (3/16/13 10:33 PM) Reply
Very nice. Thanks for the tip on sewing the corners.
galadriel45 said... (3/16/13 10:32 PM) Reply
I think you did a really good job and the dress is very chic. Inspires me to try it!
DeJa Chic said... (3/16/13 6:58 PM) Reply
Gorgeous. I started this dress some time last year but didn't end up finishing it... I'm inspired now!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details