SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6278 (misses lined dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 400 times 
Reviewed by:Byrdie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Byrdiestarstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/1/09
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/13 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
Great statement dress, especially for colour or pattern blocking. Love the bold leopard print. I have made an eyelet lace and blue linen version and one like yours, with a very busy Ponte print centrally, offset by black on the sides. I would made the lining differently, perhaps making the sides into princess seams. I found it best to mark all dots, sew and back stitch to dot then take out dress and slash to the dot, spreading and then pinning the rest of the seam. Very effective pattern, not sure why there are so few reviews of it here...
3/18/13 8:11 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Love your dress and you look absolutely FABULOUS!!!
3/17/13 10:49 AM
Sixtiesgirl said...
I like your idea about sewing the points. I found making those same points in the lining quite tedious also! I have made this dress twice since it is a very popular style among the young women in my life. Would like to make one for myself! Love your black and white fabric choices.
3/17/13 10:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your dress. I have had this pattern forever and even have the fabric to make it up. You have inspired me to give a go and move it up on my sewing list.
3/17/13 8:33 AM
jlg said...
What a fun dress.
3/17/13 6:34 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Your dress is lovely, I really like that print with the solid colour. Nice. Good tips too.
3/17/13 0:54 AM
SewWil said...
Fun dress! Thanks for the tip about sewing the points.
3/17/13 0:45 AM
Fully Busted said...
Very nice. Thanks for the tip on sewing the corners.
3/16/13 10:33 PM
galadriel45 said...
I think you did a really good job and the dress is very chic. Inspires me to try it!
3/16/13 10:32 PM
DeJa Chic said...
Gorgeous. I started this dress some time last year but didn't end up finishing it... I'm inspired now!
3/16/13 6:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Butterick 5576

photo
by: MissMarnie

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

More Info