SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7910 (Misses Skirts)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2140 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/05 5:17 PM
Last Updated:4/13/05 6:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elegantmusings said...
I really like both versions you've made up. Thank you for the informative review; I'm adding this pattern to my wish list. :) Love the shoes you're wearing in the newer picture, btw!! ;)
4/13/05 4:51 PM
Elona said...
This is really cute, Mickey! The exaggerated flare in a firm fabric definitely has a "look," but I think the fuller skirt would be adorable in something like rayon or silk georgette. Think of the amazing fullness of Ginger Roger's skirts, which really showed only when she was in motion.
4/13/05 12:14 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks for pointing out this pattern! I like both versions and hope you have been finding view A fun to wear.
4/13/05 8:51 AM
Hilary said...
Ah-ha, you *did* make the skirt! Very pretty outfit!
4/13/05 8:47 AM
AnneM said...
Nice outfit, even if it wasn't what you initially expected. Washing does help soften fabric, so it might evolve into your original expectation.
2/28/05 7:34 PM
Celeste said...
I have found that matte jersey usually works well on patterns that they don't even suggest a knit. The real bonus with matte jersey is it has weight to hang very well and this removes puffy type fullness. I believe this skirt would have the swinginess you want without the puffy look with matte jersey.
2/27/05 10:19 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I own the pattern & have made view B ... I only scanned the instructions for the other views and never noticed the inverted pleats. I'm tempted to try this, though taking out a smidge of the fullness. I found view B very full in the hips too (which I didn't expect from the drawing).
2/27/05 5:04 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
I think the skirt is gorgeous on you -- I say it's a winner! But only you know if you feel comfortable wearing it -- sometimes tons of fabric can be fun, other times it's a pain. Great job!
2/27/05 1:16 PM
Lisette said...
The outfit looks lovely on you. I agree with the others that sometimes it takes a while to get used to something different.
2/27/05 8:49 AM
jlg said...
I love the skirt on you. I made a skirt a while back that was quite flared, and I was worried that it was too much, but it became one of my favorites. Sometimes a different silhouette definitely takes some getting used to.
2/26/05 7:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
I can sort of see the pleats in the line drawings, but I would never have noticed this if you hadn't mentioned it in your review. I agree about washing it until it softens, but could you also sew the pleats shut and trim? That would take out some fullness for sure. Still, the outfit looks wonderful on you.
2/26/05 7:04 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I agree with Georgene, wash that sucker again and again and I bet it will be wonderful. Now I'm tempted to make this one. I have a really cool microfibre suede in my stash that would probably look great in this pattern. -Ann
2/26/05 5:56 PM
Georgene said...
Keep washing it, a lot! It should soften more over time. This will be fabulous in a much softer fabric, some sort of rayon print maybe? I like your top too.
2/26/05 5:28 PM
keric said...
I see what you mean about it being fuller than in the picture. However...I think it looks fabulous on you, and you should wear it proudly! That particular top paired with the skirt is an incredible outfit! Great job!
2/26/05 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review