SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8876 (Marcy Tilton)

22 more reviews
Viewed 937 times 
Reviewed by:Renata
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Renatastar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/9/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/13 4:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
And yes, the scarf is delish! Gotta love Ravelry - my FAVE online site! Apparently it sets the bar internationally for a community site.
8/24/13 7:29 PM
Gendun said...
Very helpful review! Thank you so much. Lovely dress, too. I hope you feel proud of it. :)
8/24/13 7:27 PM
kcandm said...
This is really lovely. Love the shawl too.
8/4/13 1:23 PM
DaisyA said...
Hi Renata Your derss looks beautiful and the finishing touch is your Rock Island Shawl. Brilliant work on both counts!
5/26/13 10:10 PM
sew2little said...
I'm late to the party, but I agree that this is a beautiful dress. I love it on you.
5/16/13 11:07 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this on you. I have been on the fence about this pattern as I thought that it might not look great other than on the model. It's the perfect summer dress.
4/8/13 8:23 AM
homewerk said...
This dress looks completely different with every review. I like your casual version.
4/7/13 8:49 PM
smwknits said...
Renata, thanks for a lovely review. I fell in love with the pattern the first time I saw it, and it's great to see it made up with such skill. And that sweet little shawl is the perfect accessory1 I assume you made it- lovely work!
4/5/13 11:28 AM
Sar sews said...
Me again Renata, you should be very chuffed...all those like minded sewing people rightly think what a great result you made with this dress...looks wonderful, and the shawl a delight.
3/25/13 7:27 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous summer dress Renata and the weather is even playing nice so you can wear it this week.
3/24/13 10:31 PM
Barbara V said...
What a lovely dress! The fabric is just perfect for it. And your shawl - wow - I love it. Super job!
3/24/13 8:18 PM
Eva Suzanne said...
Beautiful dress !! The fabric is just right for this & looks so pretty! The shawl is very nice too.
3/24/13 8:00 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks so much for the fine review on an intriguing pattern. I think the dress looks lovely on you, and I absolutely love your shawl.
3/24/13 12:29 PM
Diane333 said...
Your dress is so delicate and your knitting so intricate.
3/23/13 2:48 PM
Karine said...
Thank you for such a helpful review. The photos really show the beautiful workmanship. I hadn't given this pattern a second look until I saw your dress. It is just lovely and so flattering on you. And the shawl is gorgeous!
3/23/13 2:47 PM
barbcl said...
So lovely a dress and in a perfect fabric. I love the vertical and horizontal lines.
3/23/13 11:26 AM
Patti B said...
Love it! I am ready to cut my fabric for this today. Your version inspires me. Thanks! PS -- we used to call fabric similar to this Shagbark and I love it. Don't know if that is a regional name for the fabric or not.
3/23/13 10:55 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I love Marcy Tilton's designs! You made a beautiful job on this dress, the seaming really shows up well and it looks great on you. And as for the shawl, that's waaaaay out of my league. Just gorgeous.
3/23/13 9:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
That is a lovely summer dress!
3/23/13 9:21 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful! You make it looks terrific.
3/23/13 8:20 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
That is a great dress Renata - the lines of it are lovely. You know I already love your shawl and the pairing of the two works really well.
3/23/13 8:14 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I agree with the others- the dress is lovely (dotted Swiss perhaps?) but the shawl is luscious.
3/23/13 7:19 AM
Renata said...
Thank you ladies for your wonderful compliments. That's what I love about PR, whilst it feeds the ego, it also encourages us to keep sewing. As for the shawl, believe me, the patterned edge uses the most basic stitches, the body of it is garter stitch (knit each row). I am in total awe of the designers of such inspiring garments.
3/23/13 5:35 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Forgot to say thanks for that link to the yarn for your shawl. It sounds divine and as another knitter I'm always on the look out for good yarn able to be purchased here in Oz.
3/23/13 1:04 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Wow. I've always thought of that nobbly cotton (don't know what it is called either) as a little girl's fabric but you have shown me the error of that thinking. It is stunning. Love the back detail too. It looks wonderful for summer. Don't know about the high collar though but if you say it's comfy then I believe you.
3/23/13 1:03 AM
cmcarr said...
This is such a beautiful dress. I love the detail on the back. I envy your being able to knit.
3/23/13 0:20 AM
Sar sews said...
Soo pleased to see a review of this pattern at last, and your result looks fab. I loved it from minute I saw the pattern and am currently working it in a a plain col linen, but waiting for long zip to arrive from USA as I had to lengthen it all by 3"!!! Want to give the dress an airing before summer finally goes!!
3/23/13 0:15 AM
wibbles said...
Nicely done! Dress and shawl! I just ordered the pattern and have a wonderful batik waiting for it!
3/22/13 8:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
That looks fabulous! I really like it!
3/22/13 5:42 PM
bebro said...
that fabric is just beautiful, the dress looks so cool and comfy.
3/22/13 4:15 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Elegance personified! The lines are wonderful. And that shawl! Perfectly showcased on this dress! Great photoshoot too :-)
3/22/13 4:12 PM
karen n said...
Love that deep hem!
3/22/13 12:55 PM
MamaSewing said...
Your dress is perfect for summer! Gorgeous shawl too :-)
3/22/13 9:31 AM
Donel said...
Lovely dress, it looks great on you! I really like the fabric you used. The shawl is fantastic as well!
3/22/13 8:36 AM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful dress and shawl. Your knitting is gorgeous. I am envious. I love the dress too. I have it on my short list. Thank you for the review.
3/22/13 8:13 AM
Vonnevo said...
Renata, this dress is absolutely gorgeous !!! Stylish and lovely fabric - yay for a stash :) I am in awe of your knitting skills, your scarf is fabulous. Thanks for sharing :)
3/22/13 8:03 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dress and great review. I may have to move this to the top of my list to do.
3/22/13 7:14 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Gracious, how wonderful! I was already excited about this dress, but your version makes me even more eager to sew it up. You look stylish and graceful, and the pairing of the dress and the shawl is gorgeous. Agree with Rebecca D--in another fabric, it would be a very different dress.
3/22/13 6:36 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thank you so much for this review. You and the dress look fantastic, I love the fabric and your shawl. And I tell you what - I would make another one. In a different fabric, it's a whole other animal. This is so flattering, it's a shame not to have two around.
3/22/13 6:22 AM
rivergum said...
That is a lovely dress Renata, but I am TOTALLY in awe of that shawl. I can't believe you knitted that! I have had my eye on that pattern for a while, but always thought it too difficult, although I am a very experienced knitter and have made a lot of complicated designs. You must be a real artist with those needles. The shawl compliments the dress perfectly.
3/22/13 4:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

New Look 6729

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info