Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8876 (Marcy Tilton) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 854 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Renata
photo
Friend of PR
About Renatastar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/9/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/13 4:27 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
That is a lovely dress Renata, but I am TOTALLY in awe of that shawl. I can't believe you knitted that! I have had my eye on that pattern for a while, but always thought it too difficult, although I am a very experienced knitter and have made a lot of complicated designs. You must be a real artist with those needles. The shawl compliments the dress perfectly.
3/22/13 4:53 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thank you so much for this review. You and the dress look fantastic, I love the fabric and your shawl. And I tell you what - I would make another one. In a different fabric, it's a whole other animal. This is so flattering, it's a shame not to have two around.
3/22/13 6:22 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Gracious, how wonderful! I was already excited about this dress, but your version makes me even more eager to sew it up. You look stylish and graceful, and the pairing of the dress and the shawl is gorgeous. Agree with Rebecca D--in another fabric, it would be a very different dress.
3/22/13 6:36 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dress and great review. I may have to move this to the top of my list to do.
3/22/13 7:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Renata, this dress is absolutely gorgeous !!! Stylish and lovely fabric - yay for a stash :) I am in awe of your knitting skills, your scarf is fabulous. Thanks for sharing :)
3/22/13 8:03 AM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful dress and shawl. Your knitting is gorgeous. I am envious. I love the dress too. I have it on my short list. Thank you for the review.
3/22/13 8:13 AM
Donel said...
Lovely dress, it looks great on you! I really like the fabric you used. The shawl is fantastic as well!
3/22/13 8:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
Your dress is perfect for summer! Gorgeous shawl too :-)
3/22/13 9:31 AM
karen n said...
Love that deep hem!
3/22/13 12:55 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Elegance personified! The lines are wonderful. And that shawl! Perfectly showcased on this dress! Great photoshoot too :-)
3/22/13 4:12 PM
bebro said...
that fabric is just beautiful, the dress looks so cool and comfy.
3/22/13 4:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
That looks fabulous! I really like it!
3/22/13 5:42 PM
wibbles said...
Nicely done! Dress and shawl! I just ordered the pattern and have a wonderful batik waiting for it!
3/22/13 8:14 PM
Sar sews said...
Soo pleased to see a review of this pattern at last, and your result looks fab. I loved it from minute I saw the pattern and am currently working it in a a plain col linen, but waiting for long zip to arrive from USA as I had to lengthen it all by 3"!!! Want to give the dress an airing before summer finally goes!!
3/23/13 0:15 AM
cmcarr said...
This is such a beautiful dress. I love the detail on the back. I envy your being able to knit.
3/23/13 0:20 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Wow. I've always thought of that nobbly cotton (don't know what it is called either) as a little girl's fabric but you have shown me the error of that thinking. It is stunning. Love the back detail too. It looks wonderful for summer. Don't know about the high collar though but if you say it's comfy then I believe you.
3/23/13 1:03 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Forgot to say thanks for that link to the yarn for your shawl. It sounds divine and as another knitter I'm always on the look out for good yarn able to be purchased here in Oz.
3/23/13 1:04 AM
Renata said...
Thank you ladies for your wonderful compliments. That's what I love about PR, whilst it feeds the ego, it also encourages us to keep sewing. As for the shawl, believe me, the patterned edge uses the most basic stitches, the body of it is garter stitch (knit each row). I am in total awe of the designers of such inspiring garments.
3/23/13 5:35 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I agree with the others- the dress is lovely (dotted Swiss perhaps?) but the shawl is luscious.
3/23/13 7:19 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
That is a great dress Renata - the lines of it are lovely. You know I already love your shawl and the pairing of the two works really well.
3/23/13 8:14 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful! You make it looks terrific.
3/23/13 8:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
That is a lovely summer dress!
3/23/13 9:21 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I love Marcy Tilton's designs! You made a beautiful job on this dress, the seaming really shows up well and it looks great on you. And as for the shawl, that's waaaaay out of my league. Just gorgeous.
3/23/13 9:48 AM
Patti B said...
Love it! I am ready to cut my fabric for this today. Your version inspires me. Thanks! PS -- we used to call fabric similar to this Shagbark and I love it. Don't know if that is a regional name for the fabric or not.
3/23/13 10:55 AM
barbcl said...
So lovely a dress and in a perfect fabric. I love the vertical and horizontal lines.
3/23/13 11:26 AM
Karine said...
Thank you for such a helpful review. The photos really show the beautiful workmanship. I hadn't given this pattern a second look until I saw your dress. It is just lovely and so flattering on you. And the shawl is gorgeous!
3/23/13 2:47 PM
Diane333 said...
Your dress is so delicate and your knitting so intricate.
3/23/13 2:48 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks so much for the fine review on an intriguing pattern. I think the dress looks lovely on you, and I absolutely love your shawl.
3/24/13 12:29 PM
Eva Suzanne said...
Beautiful dress !! The fabric is just right for this & looks so pretty! The shawl is very nice too.
3/24/13 8:00 PM
Barbara V said...
What a lovely dress! The fabric is just perfect for it. And your shawl - wow - I love it. Super job!
3/24/13 8:18 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous summer dress Renata and the weather is even playing nice so you can wear it this week.
3/24/13 10:31 PM
Sar sews said...
Me again Renata, you should be very chuffed...all those like minded sewing people rightly think what a great result you made with this dress...looks wonderful, and the shawl a delight.
3/25/13 7:27 AM
smwknits said...
Renata, thanks for a lovely review. I fell in love with the pattern the first time I saw it, and it's great to see it made up with such skill. And that sweet little shawl is the perfect accessory1 I assume you made it- lovely work!
4/5/13 11:28 AM
homewerk said...
This dress looks completely different with every review. I like your casual version.
4/7/13 8:49 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this on you. I have been on the fence about this pattern as I thought that it might not look great other than on the model. It's the perfect summer dress.
4/8/13 8:23 AM
sew2little said...
I'm late to the party, but I agree that this is a beautiful dress. I love it on you.
5/16/13 11:07 PM
DaisyA said...
Hi Renata Your derss looks beautiful and the finishing touch is your Rock Island Shawl. Brilliant work on both counts!
5/26/13 10:10 PM
kcandm said...
This is really lovely. Love the shawl too.
8/4/13 1:23 PM
Gendun said...
Very helpful review! Thank you so much. Lovely dress, too. I hope you feel proud of it. :)
8/24/13 7:27 PM
Gendun said...
And yes, the scarf is delish! Gotta love Ravelry - my FAVE online site! Apparently it sets the bar internationally for a community site.
8/24/13 7:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 2/2/10
Read Review

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7003 Pattern
Burda 7003 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1010 Lady Grey
photo
Review by Lynnelle on 11/20/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us