SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> Seperates 01/05 # 715 (Sleeveless wrap top)

Viewed 1547 times 
Reviewed by:MariaDenmark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MariaDenmarkstarstar
DENMARK
Member since: 5/13/03
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/05 1:12 PM
Last Updated:2/27/05 1:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pecan said...
I really like this top and the print...very cool. I am big into V-neck tops and this is really flattering on you. I wish I was as thin...
1/17/06 9:05 PM
patsijean said...
Maria, This looks great on you!! Definitely sew more for yourself. Don't be so over critical of your body, you obviously have a nice figure and can wear this style garment well. As for the direction of the print, It has far more punch as is. This way one looks at you, colors and style first and then at the print so the print does not wear you instead of youy wearing it.
9/1/05 7:26 AM
KiwiWendy said...
a great top that suits you ... 'advantages' can be a nuisance when it comes to clothing ;-) I'm going on a hunt for this magazine
4/13/05 2:51 AM
MariaDenmark said...
OKgirl - I couldn't PM you - don't know why, but there is no button in your profile to PM you... Send me a message, or give me your e-mail, I'll explain about the elastic and flatpatternmeasure
4/3/05 1:33 AM
OKgirl said...
Also, MariaDenmark - I would also try sewing the very same way as this one, but this time sew it with the print going diagonal from the bottom right front to the top left front (great attention getter). Don't expect compliments from "fuddie duddies" - they wil not be hip to this. BTW, you look great without makeup, hungover and etc. singed... "envious in oklahoma" sew some more!!!!!!
4/1/05 1:49 PM
OKgirl said...
MariaDenmark, all I can say is WOW!!! - you did an excellent job on this top. And, in my opinion, I would wear it as it is, with the writings "upside down". It gives it great appeal. Wear it out and you will get great compliments -trust me on this. Wear it in the presence of your peer age group especially, they will love it. It truly looks awesome on you. I surely wouldn't discount your personal appearnace [e.g. comparing yourself with your friends/ "advantages], as your shape looks very nice in this style. Go for it!! Make a bunch more - and dare to be different!!!! p.s. I am a beginner sewr and don't know anything about clear elastic, nor about flat pattern measure. Could you reply yo me about those thigs - I would truly appreciate it very much! OK girl (as in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA) Anxious to hear from you soon!
4/1/05 1:37 PM
AnneM said...
Oh my! I suppose you can read the print just fine. :) Your top looks much cuter than the pattern picture. You can definitely wear the style, particularly if you have a necklace that needs to be shown off.
2/28/05 6:28 PM
Motorposus said...
I kind of like the writing upside down. It's more punk that way.
2/28/05 6:18 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Thank you all! Am very flattered! Since the vote seem to be that I can wear this - I am going to cut out another in a more stable fabric tonight!
2/28/05 8:55 AM
ClaireC said...
Maria, this top looks wonderful on you....sexy, but not trashy. Ladylike with an edge. You should make more of them. YOu are very beautiful, even with a hangover. If I could only look this good on a normal day. ;o)
2/28/05 5:02 AM
Tini said...
Looks great ( I wish I would look like you, when I have a hang over :) ) I think, it is very flattering & you should sew a bunch more of these!!
2/28/05 1:07 AM
SewTwin said...
The top is too cool! Makes your waist look enviously small, and has that playtex bra lift and support look.This will be great for summer in a sheer with a thin lining for the upper half only. Party type top! Sew more and post 'em!
2/27/05 9:31 PM
SandraB said...
This top looks really good on you Maria. Very nice.
2/27/05 8:48 PM
Jan B. said...
I think this looks great on you. And, you can read the print correctly when you look down!
2/27/05 7:38 PM
Meguiar said...
Great looking top. I actually like the letters being upside down - funky and a little abstract, at least it will make people look twice!
2/27/05 6:46 PM
Amelie said...
This is a very flattering style on you. You did a great job. Thanks for all the details on sewing with knits.
2/27/05 5:17 PM
Elona said...
It looks like an absolutely perfect fit, Maria!
2/27/05 4:42 PM
mudcat said...
I also think the style is good on you. Good that you can make another one with the words the right side up. You can save this one for when you're having bad relationship days.
2/27/05 3:51 PM
cindyann said...
Maria, I love that style on you. Really cute! I'm glad that you have some more of this fabric as it's adorable
2/27/05 3:03 PM
jlg said...
Too bad about the direction of the print. The top looks great on you.
2/27/05 2:39 PM
Levone said...
I think your top looks great on you...good job.
2/27/05 2:22 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Tank top looks very nice on you. I love that fabric ! Too bad it was so difficult to work with
2/27/05 2:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it's a great looking top. Oh those hangover days - I remember them well. Good thing I'm older now - I said older - not necessarily wiser - hehehe
2/27/05 2:11 PM
kellyt said...
Very cute top! I think it is very flattering.
2/27/05 1:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

More Info