Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: Seperates 01/05 # 715 (Sleeveless wrap top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1547 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:MariaDenmark
photo
Friend of PR
About MariaDenmarkstarstar
DENMARK
Member since: 5/13/03
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/05 1:12 PM
Last Updated:2/27/05 1:15 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellyt said...
Very cute top! I think it is very flattering.
2/27/05 1:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it's a great looking top. Oh those hangover days - I remember them well. Good thing I'm older now - I said older - not necessarily wiser - hehehe
2/27/05 2:11 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Tank top looks very nice on you. I love that fabric ! Too bad it was so difficult to work with
2/27/05 2:18 PM
Levone said...
I think your top looks great on you...good job.
2/27/05 2:22 PM
jlg said...
Too bad about the direction of the print. The top looks great on you.
2/27/05 2:39 PM
cindyann said...
Maria, I love that style on you. Really cute! I'm glad that you have some more of this fabric as it's adorable
2/27/05 3:03 PM
mudcat said...
I also think the style is good on you. Good that you can make another one with the words the right side up. You can save this one for when you're having bad relationship days.
2/27/05 3:51 PM
Elona said...
It looks like an absolutely perfect fit, Maria!
2/27/05 4:42 PM
Amelie said...
This is a very flattering style on you. You did a great job. Thanks for all the details on sewing with knits.
2/27/05 5:17 PM
Meguiar said...
Great looking top. I actually like the letters being upside down - funky and a little abstract, at least it will make people look twice!
2/27/05 6:46 PM
Jan B. said...
I think this looks great on you. And, you can read the print correctly when you look down!
2/27/05 7:38 PM
SandraB said...
This top looks really good on you Maria. Very nice.
2/27/05 8:48 PM
SewTwin said...
The top is too cool! Makes your waist look enviously small, and has that playtex bra lift and support look.This will be great for summer in a sheer with a thin lining for the upper half only. Party type top! Sew more and post 'em!
2/27/05 9:31 PM
Tini said...
Looks great ( I wish I would look like you, when I have a hang over :) ) I think, it is very flattering & you should sew a bunch more of these!!
2/28/05 1:07 AM
ClaireC said...
Maria, this top looks wonderful on you....sexy, but not trashy. Ladylike with an edge. You should make more of them. YOu are very beautiful, even with a hangover. If I could only look this good on a normal day. ;o)
2/28/05 5:02 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Thank you all! Am very flattered! Since the vote seem to be that I can wear this - I am going to cut out another in a more stable fabric tonight!
2/28/05 8:55 AM
Motorposus said...
I kind of like the writing upside down. It's more punk that way.
2/28/05 6:18 PM
AnneM said...
Oh my! I suppose you can read the print just fine. :) Your top looks much cuter than the pattern picture. You can definitely wear the style, particularly if you have a necklace that needs to be shown off.
2/28/05 6:28 PM
OKgirl said...
MariaDenmark, all I can say is WOW!!! - you did an excellent job on this top. And, in my opinion, I would wear it as it is, with the writings "upside down". It gives it great appeal. Wear it out and you will get great compliments -trust me on this. Wear it in the presence of your peer age group especially, they will love it. It truly looks awesome on you. I surely wouldn't discount your personal appearnace [e.g. comparing yourself with your friends/ "advantages], as your shape looks very nice in this style. Go for it!! Make a bunch more - and dare to be different!!!! p.s. I am a beginner sewr and don't know anything about clear elastic, nor about flat pattern measure. Could you reply yo me about those thigs - I would truly appreciate it very much! OK girl (as in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA) Anxious to hear from you soon!
4/1/05 1:37 PM
OKgirl said...
Also, MariaDenmark - I would also try sewing the very same way as this one, but this time sew it with the print going diagonal from the bottom right front to the top left front (great attention getter). Don't expect compliments from "fuddie duddies" - they wil not be hip to this. BTW, you look great without makeup, hungover and etc. singed... "envious in oklahoma" sew some more!!!!!!
4/1/05 1:49 PM
MariaDenmark said...
OKgirl - I couldn't PM you - don't know why, but there is no button in your profile to PM you... Send me a message, or give me your e-mail, I'll explain about the elastic and flatpatternmeasure
4/3/05 1:33 AM
KiwiWendy said...
a great top that suits you ... 'advantages' can be a nuisance when it comes to clothing ;-) I'm going on a hunt for this magazine
4/13/05 2:51 AM
patsijean said...
Maria, This looks great on you!! Definitely sew more for yourself. Don't be so over critical of your body, you obviously have a nice figure and can wear this style garment well. As for the direction of the print, It has far more punch as is. This way one looks at you, colors and style first and then at the print so the print does not wear you instead of youy wearing it.
9/1/05 7:26 AM
Pecan said...
I really like this top and the print...very cool. I am big into V-neck tops and this is really flattering on you. I wish I was as thin...
1/17/06 9:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4014 Dress and Coat
photo
Review by usbeckers on 12/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8529
photo
Review by Blooms on 9/6/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us