SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts)

32 more reviews
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest
Viewed 863 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/13 3:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I love how you matched the print across the front! That is just stellar work!
3/31/13 3:25 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. That's such a well made and nicely fitted blouse. It's gorgeous.
3/31/13 3:34 AM
Quickie said...
Nice blouse
3/31/13 3:51 AM
Sarah Liz said...
A very lovely shirt, and thanks for sharing the pivot and slide technique. Idon't think anyone will notice the pattern mismatch, it really isnot obvious in the photo. Lovely fit.
3/31/13 6:07 AM
PeppermintPam said...
You nailed the fit on this one, it looks great! A definite TNT pattern.
3/31/13 8:29 AM
BJ1400 said...
You did a great job. It fits you perfectly!
3/31/13 8:54 AM
Texahoma said...
The fit looks perfect in the photo, I really appreciate your tips, I will try them as I too have fitting issues across the shoulder blades. Beautiful fabric and finished shirt.
3/31/13 12:15 PM
persevering said...
Wow! I am so impressed by your success - your blouse looks fabulously well fitting - CONGRATULATIONS - and may I add - everything about your shirt compliments you!
3/31/13 1:46 PM
persevering said...
Wow! I am so impressed by your success - your blouse looks fabulously well fitting - CONGRATULATIONS - and may I add - everything about your shirt compliments you!
3/31/13 2:55 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing blouse perfect fit!
3/31/13 4:32 PM
Maree P said...
This is a great shirt. Lovely sewing.
3/31/13 8:09 PM
Silknmore said...
Incredible shirt - fit and matching the pattern in front.
4/1/13 10:23 AM
WhatSew said...
Great fitting shirt and thanks for the tips.
4/1/13 12:03 PM
thecuriouskiwi said...
Love your birdie fabric with this blouse, the colours give it an almost Japanese twist and it looks very well fitted, nice work xx
4/1/13 3:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive shirt!
4/2/13 0:10 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone!
4/2/13 7:11 AM
JanElise said...
Great review! Great application of pattern and fitting! It looks terrific on you!
4/4/13 7:47 AM
Baja Susana said...
Lovely blouse, it looks good on you. Thanks for the collar tutorial, I have bookmarked it. Your collar looks professionally made.
4/7/13 11:52 AM
meleliza said...
Nearly perfect match? I can't find anything imperfect about it! I think you've done a wonderful job with this and your review is really helpful. You've got my vote!
4/7/13 8:36 PM
Adventurer said...
I voted for this. It looks perfectly matched to me. I like that it has a sharp yet feminine quality. I agree with kaituikiwi that the blue color and birds have a Japanese look.
4/9/13 7:18 PM
trumbelina said...
THat is exactly the same back adjustment I always have to do. So does theSlapdashsewist aka "nice girl" on PR, and Afashionablestitch.com. Nice girl has some nice visuals on her blog of adjustments she's made.
4/11/13 6:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous shirt and a great fit; an impressive effort. Welcome to shirt-making. May you feel inspired to make many more. I think lawn is sturdier than voile, which is lighter and a less dense weave. Liberty's famous lawn is certainly not a voile. However, US sources seem to use "lawn" when referring to what I think of a voile.
4/14/13 0:22 AM
Danmar said...
Wow--thanks for the collar turning info!! Great review and really nice shirt.
7/6/13 6:57 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks for the great review and all the wonderful pix and tips! The gal at the fabric store said they’ve had great response to Simplicity’s Amazing Fit series. The clean shoulder and sleeve, not tight neck-band, plus the pre-made bust adjustment were the pattern’s selling features for me. I too, will put a placket on the sleeves. Thanks also for your pivot tip re adding back room. A tip about finding pattern repeats - drape the fabric on the back of a sofa or chair - somewhere that you’ll see it as you pass through the day and different lighting. You need to distance yourself and sometimes need to approach from a different angle. Let it hang for a day or two until you see not only the pattern, its repeat, but also make decisions as to where you want designs to sit over your bust and tummy area.
8/4/13 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5797

photo
by: LotusMonke...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 4103

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now