SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-126 

7 more reviews
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo

 
 
About tiadiastar
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews written: 127
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 125
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/13 6:45 PM
Last Updated:10/14/14 8:44 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by tiadia

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Well, Burda calls this a "top". No kidding!!!

UPDATE October 2014: Yet another make! The most recent version of this top is here as part of my LATH (lounge-around-the-house) wardrobe.

UPDATE September 2013: My second version of this top is here


Pattern Sizing:
34-42 I sewed up a 42.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the instructions were very simple to follow, but I made some changes....

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The gathered raglan sleeves were a cute take on the typical tee pattern.

Fabric Used:
Rayon-lycra remnant

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I sewed a size down from my usual size, and I probably should have gone down another size through the shoulders and bust, but I don't like to have too close a fit at this stage in my life.

This tee is looooong. I'm an average 5'6", and leaving this the full length meant I potentially had a hip-length tunic. So I chopped 5 inches off the bottom and made a 1.5" deep hem.

The other change I made was to forget about the neck binding. I simply did the usual knit edging: cut a length (2 inches shorter than Burda recommended) of fabric on the cross grain, fold it in half (wrong sides together), press, and stitch to the neckline edges together. Trim the seam, flip the edging strip seam to the inside and edgestitch through all thicknesses to hold the edging in place.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! This is such a pretty version of the traditional T-shirt, and it's easy to make.

Conclusion:
A great little pattern for your next summer top! You can see more pics on my blog!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kayseri said...
These both look lovely. Time for me to trace and sew.
10/15/14 2:18 AM
gmagina said...
I have this top on my wishlist already, so was great to read your review. Your top looks great!!! Thanks for the tips on the neck binding.
10/14/14 9:45 PM
grays08 said...
Nice top, and completely agree with you on the neck binding being too long. I still need to go back and cut at least two inches off and mine and redo. It's insanely long and wants to hang in the middle with the stabilizer (which just makes it a stable sag, ha!). Thanks for the great reviews!
4/5/13 8:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another cute top!!!
4/5/13 5:26 AM
sewtofit said...
Nice top!
4/4/13 10:54 PM
Levone said...
Cute top! I love this pattern.
4/4/13 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Vogue Patterns 8084

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

More Info
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info