SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5889 (One-hour pull-on pants)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 158
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/13 8:38 PM
Last Updated:6/24/13 6:03 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


  McCall's: 5889 by FreyaStark  McCall's: 5889 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendyrb said...
You definitely nailed the harem pant look without any common mishaps! Simple on-seam pockets- goodness knows, required. I like the way you styled with the golden shirt and the shawl. The fabric . . . love paisley too and the colors, but hmmmm . . . What a great idea- The Horrible Fabric Contest. I could give you some competition there! Make these pants again, different fabric and I bet you'll love'em.
4/19/13 0:31 AM
Stargirl7 said...
I actually rather like this fabric. It seems to want to travel with you to foreign parts. Plus it will look rather nice with a camel. Nicely done!
4/19/13 0:45 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Also perfect for complementing desert sands. I have this pattern so will be very careful of length and add 8 inches instead of my usual 4 or 5. thanks for the warning,
4/19/13 3:52 AM
Mufffet said...
Love 'em. Great color as well. Safari pants for sure.
4/19/13 11:30 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Fun idea for next year's contests... I hope your idea sticks. I have a few l o v e l y selections... I like the print and colors... IF the length bothers you, I think sheer double fold of something like a sheer knit - a 'see thru' band added to the bottom would be visually interesting and 'solve' the length issue.
4/19/13 8:06 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice. I like the fabric! You could add a solid cuff to the bottom if the length bothers you, but I thought they looked fine as is. I love your styling.
4/19/13 8:30 PM
Dilliander said...
I'm with the others, I like them and the Liberty cotton will make them feel fabulous too.
4/20/13 0:20 AM
gsp1066 said...
They look great--just the right amount of fullness. Have fun on your trip.
4/20/13 10:23 AM
rivergum said...
The fabric looks lovely on my screen and kudos to you for venturing into harem pants, they are right on trend.
5/1/13 1:19 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice -- I love the paisley and I think it looks great with the gold shirt.
5/14/13 5:33 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Well, the print doesn't seem so bad from a distance! What kind of treats do camels get then? LOL
6/24/13 5:54 AM
Renren said...
Really nice pants in a great fabric. Keep them both! As my elastic-waist pants begin to age due to wear I find they are perfect as gardening/yard pants.
6/24/13 9:39 AM
carolynw said...
Love both these pants and until now I would have said I would never, ever like pants made out of a print so thanks for converting me. Great for desert travel - will blend in so well you might get lost which would not be good. I have some fabric for that contest!!
6/24/13 4:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now