Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Deja Vu Wrap (Deja Vu Wrap) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1708 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/05 11:46 PM
Last Updated:3/7/05 5:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Maybe that's why they named it the Deja Vu Wrap? I indulged myself in the eye candy in your album, BTW. You do such beautiful work and the fabrics are fabulous. This sounds like a fairly quick and easy wrap.
3/7/05 0:56 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a bonus when something old becomes new again, and you haven't thrown it out!
3/7/05 4:24 AM
annsew65 said...
Ann, so glad to see your Cocoon/Deja Vu Wrap! I've been thinking about getting the pattern while at the Atlanta Expo this weekend. I love wraps of this kind - they don't bind you up like a coat and they will slip over suits, etc. easily. You've made up my mind for me! It's quite unusual - yet elegant.
3/7/05 5:12 AM
Lyn B. said...
Oh, my. I've come to dread opening up your reviews, Ann. You do such fabulous work, and you look so wonderful, I almost always end up with a new pattern. This is beautiful, therefore no exception. I'll be picking up this pattern in the near future! Editing to clarify that looking at you and your creations doesn't cause dread! I dread that I will almost surely end up with a new pattern in my insanely overgrown stash.
3/7/05 6:51 AM
Mai S said...
I too took a workshop on this pattern with Marcy Tilton when she got the pattern at a workshop she held back east. I made one with a heavy rayon/wool which was drapey. My pattern has welt pockets. The only concern I remember was that the pattern is large..very large, and I had to cut it out on the floor. Also I found it invaluable to mark everything with different color thread so that when I started matching edges,etc together, I matched the particular colored threads together. I went back to the pattern and found polaroid photos of Marcy in her white version with the pattern. Gosh, this was years ago.
3/7/05 11:36 AM
Ann Smith said...
Mai S, I had forgotten but I cut it out on the floor also. The one piece is 3 or more yards long. As with all SW patterns, marking carefully is important because of the asymmetry.
3/7/05 12:07 PM
CatherineN said...
Something is so different about your puotos....you are always smiling and wearing shoes. Like Mary Beth, I like to look at your site.Your choice of fabrics and sewing skill are outstanding.
3/7/05 1:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you everyone for your kind words. I'm pleased you enjoyed looking through my albums. Mai, you are right. Mine has welt pockets. I edited the review to mention that difference.
3/7/05 5:18 PM
Alene said...
I went to the sewing expo in Puyallup last weeked and while I was in the Sewing Workshop booth looking through the rack of garmets made up from SW patterns someone asked if the Deja Vu coat was a shorted version of the Cocoon Coat. The woman working in the booth (not Linda Lee) said that yes it was and that with the popularity of ponchos they reissued it. She said it had the look of a poncho with a bit more detail. Ann you are so fashion forward and always a great inspiration!
3/7/05 6:47 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Another winning and stunning piece! I always find your sewing reviews enticing and inspiring. Thanks for yet another great review. I agree with Lyn B. - I fear that I will end up adding to a rather large and overwhelming pattern stash. :)
3/7/05 7:39 PM
silversewist said...
I, too, was at the Puyallup Sewing Expo and saw a couple of versions of the wrap. The one in an ethnic-style striped fabric that they showed in Linda Lee's fashion show was a knockout! I would never have thought of stripes for this pattern, but it worked. If one's body can carry off the amount of fabric, drape, and drama in this garment (and it looks great on Ann!), this pattern is a keeper. (Review of Expo coming - 18 classes, 6 fashion shows, and I'm still in a daze.)
3/7/05 11:51 PM
Annette H said...
Thanks for your album! Truly inspiring.
3/8/05 5:00 AM
marigold said...
ann, the sewing workshop should pay you to be their model! you make the make amazing garments and always look so unbelievably glamorous.
3/8/05 12:26 PM
Sewphie said...
Ann, I was happy to see that you had written a review on this pattern. I just received the pattern in the mail (Sewing Workshop has a sale on some of their patterns this month, and this one is now $12! I am looking forward to making it up -- seems elegant and cozy at the same time!
2/25/06 1:49 AM
Carol Lay said...
I made this jacket / wrap. It was easy to make. However, since I am only 5'2", the length & volume of fabric is just too much for me.
11/22/08 8:55 AM
theresa hebert said...
need plus size pattern
12/1/09 7:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 7871 dresses
photo
Review by Toozie on 4/16/08
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8648 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by NVK on 12/18/12
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us