SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 3248 (Drop Pocket Cardigan)

8 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/13 2:19 PM
Last Updated:4/12/13 3:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alison Cummins said...
Thanks, grays08!
9/28/13 11:26 AM
grays08 said...
Alison Cummins - You are correct however it never feels unbalanced when wearing (and I wear it a lot) but perhaps this is because my fabric is so light. I would definitely recommend lighterweight fabrics for that reason however.
9/14/13 8:39 AM
Alison Cummins said...
Question: If I understand correctly, the whole front is double and then itís folded over again so the pocket area is four layers thick. Doesnít it feel unbalanced with the back being only a single layer?
9/13/13 5:30 PM
gsp1066 said...
I met Amelie (Jalie is her family's biz) at PR Weekend and tried on her version. She says that it works best for very drapey and comparatively heavy knits. Hers looked great on everyone who tried it on.
5/13/13 11:40 PM
sewsue1 said...
Thanks for your very helpful review! I think yours looks great. Since I am a size V, too, it was nice to be on the lookout for the marking error. The cautions on fabric selection are absolutely true...the drapier the better!
4/14/13 9:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I definitely think this needs another go now that you have ironed out the problems, well not problems but you know what I mean. I am going to refer back to your fantastic review now that I have decided to make this cardigan. Interesting to know about the sleeve having a bit more space too. We have skinny arms in our family so I liked the tighter fittings sleeve of the other cardi you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to write this informative review.
4/13/13 10:34 PM
cleverkitty said...
Excellent review! I saw this but was not sure about it for the reasons you mentioned, I recently made a Jalie pattern from white knit fabric that reminds me of your cardigan. I was not crazy about it although I had made it many times in different prints. Something about it being white, I decided no more white fabric sewing. I admit when I wear it's a good basic. Make this cardigan your basic. I really appreciate your review :)
4/13/13 10:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This review was most helpful
4/13/13 8:54 AM
Sewmissy2 said...
Oh what a wonderful review! And remember your cardigan is just a plain white one. Make it in a different fabric and I think you will love it.
4/13/13 7:58 AM
JEF said...
Excellent excellent review! I think your cardi looks nice. Hope it grows on you.
4/13/13 7:00 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Thanks for the great review on this very cute pattern. The droopy-droppy pockets are a nice touch on this cardigan and set it apart. It's VERY cute!
4/13/13 3:28 AM
grays08 said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words. I have to admit, it is growing on me. =) I do think I will play around with some topstitching around the pocket just because my fabric wants to "poof" there at the top seam, but it's easy to rip out too if I don't like it. Thanks wendyrb, I follow you and appreciate the advice.
4/13/13 0:32 AM
wendyrb said...
Nice review and you did we'll with your garment. Like how clearly you explained and showed the back neck binding. Beautifully done. As to top stitching the front edges. I'd try it on and try to find the break point like on a lapel- where does it want to turn? Mark that point and top stitch around with the neck side showing. Leave long thread tails and pull them inside between the fabric layers to hide them. Flip the garment over and starting where you left off go to the rest of the front edge into the pocket. Again, leave long threads and pul them between layers to bury them. Make sense?
4/12/13 11:02 PM
Dee2 said...
I hope you start to enjoy wearing this as it is very cute, beautifully sewn, & looks very good on you!
4/12/13 9:57 PM
SewWil said...
I just got this pattern. I think yours is very nice but I know what you mean by not being in love with it. Give it some time. It may grow on you.
4/12/13 9:02 PM
julie w said...
Thank you for the detailed review and bringing this pattern to my attention. Love our cardigan and it is definitely not horrid.
4/12/13 6:06 PM
ArtAttack said...
It looks really cute on you! But you need to think so, too. Great pattern and review...try it with another fabric and maybe you'll love it but it's cute as is!
4/12/13 3:27 PM
quathy said...
Really cute sweater! Thank you for the in-depth review!
4/12/13 3:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 5832

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

More Info