Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2401 (Fitted sheath) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 657 times 39 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/13 3:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $10.80 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.80  List Price: $13.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
The dress looks absolutely fabulous on you! The piping on the neck/arm edges is a very nice touch. I had to Google custom skirt party - I'd never heard of that before. Welcome back to sewing! I have been trying to squeeze in some creative sewing time with a stupid crazy work life, too. Your fabulous result is an inspiration!
4/17/13 3:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Charming and chic!
4/17/13 3:51 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I LOVE how your year came full circle! The original skirt is nice but your dress is great! I love the piped detail, it really elevates the construction of a simple sheath. Looks wonderful and elegant on you. I always enjoy your reviews so I'm grateful to the skirt that started it all :D
4/17/13 4:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and lovely fabric! How wonderful that your creative fashion sewing self resurfaced and best of all you are sharing it with all of us!
4/17/13 4:16 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This is quite a story! Thanks for sharing your anniversary celebration. Isn't this the best pattern? SO timeless. Your dress is adorable and cute, cute fabric. Who knew that would be the tie that binds!! Love it.
4/17/13 4:19 PM
Sallys Sewing Journal said...
This is a great dress! I have this pattern in my stash and will be pulling it out to sew because of your review.
4/17/13 5:18 PM
mnitts said...
Happy anniversary! What a great year of sewing you have had and your dress is beautiful. Love the piping.
4/17/13 5:20 PM
slmstyle said...
Great little sheath dress! Happy anniversary as well! We are all glad you are part of th PR community and appreciate your skills and style :)
4/17/13 5:59 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Happy Anniversay, Julie! I was unaware of the motivation to begin sewing again and am flattered to know my experience directly influenced you. You sew beautifully and have much to celebrate on your return to sewing! You've created another beautiful garment. Many thanks fore the great review :)
4/17/13 9:01 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Absolutely beautiful!
4/17/13 10:51 PM
Betty Stitchup said...
Stunning dress and what gorgeous fabric!
4/17/13 11:54 PM
sewtofit said...
It's always great to hear the excitement ring through typed words. Congratulations on your sewversary. Welcome back!
4/18/13 0:04 AM
SavageCoco said...
Ditto what everyone else has said! And I dig your poolside photo shoot, lucky you!
4/18/13 0:17 AM
koffeegypsy said...
Absolutely love the large eyelet material! Looks great!
4/18/13 0:47 AM
BeaJay said...
What a beautiful dress. And a very interesting story. You certainly don't need to buy clothes with skills like yours. Love the fabric and the piping is very nice indeed. I am using the same pattern in search of a TNT pattern for dresses.
4/18/13 1:39 AM
ChristmasHills said...
A very happy pairing of fabric and pattern.
4/18/13 3:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress; nice idea to use the piping. Pretty fabric.
4/18/13 5:30 AM
Fran G said...
A charming review..I enjoyed your description of how you returned to sewing! Your dress is lovely and one can not have a better "mentor/model" than Goodbye Valentino!
4/18/13 8:09 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. The dress looks wonderful. Happy anniversary.
4/18/13 12:32 PM
wimmie said...
beautiful dress and very inspiring story.
4/18/13 7:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Gorgeous.
4/18/13 11:58 PM
HRigg said...
Love the fabric. Great for a classy sheath dress.
4/21/13 1:05 PM
cleverkitty said...
I missed this one, it is gorgeous!!!! Nice story I remember when you started PR Happy Anniversary I have always looked forward to your reviews :)
4/22/13 1:30 PM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this one?!!! Another great dress from you. Another pattern I must have. Congratulations on your one year anniversary. You do beautiful work.
5/6/13 10:36 PM
mitaliK said...
Fabulous fabric.This is one of my favorite patterns...such a wardrobe builder. Loved your creation.
5/7/13 7:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8954 Misses' Vest
photo
Review by sfshaza on 11/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Margo Handbag
Margo Handbag

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5249
photo
Review by kim*brown on 12/1/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us