Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1886 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:MarilynB
photo
Friend of PR
About MarilynBstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/05 3:12 PM
Last Updated:3/11/05 5:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Lovely jacket and great review. Your jacket looks so professionally made. Beautiful.
3/11/05 3:19 PM
MarilynB said...
Thank you. That is quite a compliment coming from you.
3/11/05 3:45 PM
Portia Hirschman said...
I've now made this jacket three times. In denium, boucle and lightweight wool. I agree about the sleeves being a little snug. At the same time, I found the upper chest to be too large--thank heavens for the princess seaming--was an easy adjustment to make. You did a wonderful job with the pockets! Nice jacket!
3/11/05 4:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
You did a great job on this jacket -- it looks quite classy. You covered the problems with the pattern instructions quite well -- I've made this pattern twice and noticed most of these same issues. I also had the same problem as Portia with the fit in the upper chest, but I think I should have used size smaller.
3/11/05 6:36 PM
PVA said...
Very professional job -- thanks for the review! I too think the pockets look just perfect!
3/11/05 8:08 PM
AnneM said...
You jacket is very nice, much nicer than the pattern drawings. Glad you were able to get a nice jacket out of the pattern.
3/12/05 6:51 AM
Tiner W said...
Your jacket looks beautiful! I have this pattern and plan to tackle it after Easter, so I appreciate the info about the sleeves and fit. I agree with your comment about the fake pockets!
3/12/05 8:21 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket. Well worth the time and effort. I loved your review too!!!! Lots of very helpful tips and advise!
3/12/05 8:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfect!
3/12/05 8:58 AM
drsue said...
What a fabulous job!
3/12/05 10:00 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful jacket! I was encouraged to give Vogue another tryn after a bad run with confusing instructions on them years ago and did so with this one. Wouldn't you know that this one has mixed-up instructions? It is well worth it for the nice design, though. I really love your version!
3/12/05 10:59 AM
KarmenG said...
Hey Marilyn! - a gorgeous suit - you did a beautiful job. I enjoyed your informative reivew.
3/12/05 6:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket. Looks very classic.
3/12/05 9:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Pillows
photo
Review by mClones on 4/22/05
Read Review

Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5877 Pajama Shorts
photo
Review by SunnyQ on 10/7/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us