Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2444 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 323 times 77 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:mangoflavor
photo
About mangoflavorstar
MA
Member since: 7/10/11
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/13 3:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
Your dress is so pretty and fits very nicely. I love the blossom photographs, just gorgeous.
4/28/13 3:34 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous floral print dress and so lovely under the blossoms....very springy!
4/28/13 10:25 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely dress and perfect spot under the flowering cherries. Isn't it annoying when we spot things like twinning in a photograph and yet in real life it passes us by. The good news is than no one else but other sewers will notice either, and we are not too many - you'll be safe. I love your pleated skirt.
4/29/13 2:31 AM
Jessica Dean said...
I am so glad that you overcame your self-consciousness about the colors. They look beautiful on you! Great job on the dress. :)
5/2/13 0:07 AM
madbadger said...
I just finished a dress from this pattern (will probably do a review tomorrow when I wear it) but have to say, I like YOUR version a lot better than mine, lol! Looks fabulous on you - great review!
5/4/13 5:01 PM
InglesideBelle said...
Your dress looks great and you look happy wearing it! You describe your sewing process well and demonstrate good judgment in your choices of lining and underlining. As for the hem being shorter in back, I've experienced the same phenomenon with skirts that I've made for one of my daughters. I've learned to cut the back an inch longer and taper at the sides to the front length. Actually, today I read a comment by an experienced dressmaker and alterations expert that making the back hem of a skirt or dress a bit longer (I think she said 1/4") is visually slimming. You do such nice work sewing; it would be nice if your photos made it easier to see the results. The photo showing the bodice front is the best for showing what the fabric looks like after being made into the dress. But it's difficult to see the dress in the photo showing the back because of the shadows cast by the tree and the busy background. Here's a photo tip: take outdoor photos either on cloudy days when there is not the dramatic light and shadow confusion, or early or late in the day when the light is softer. :)
5/5/13 10:37 PM
mangoflavor said...
IglesideBelle, thanks for your tips. I was really excited to take these photos under the blossoms that I didn't really pay attention to lighting. I will keep these tips in mind on future photoshoots :)
5/7/13 9:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us