SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7059 (Misses Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 704 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 141 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/13 10:30 PM
Last Updated:4/27/13 10:32 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Your dress is lovely. That being said, after hundreds of comments on the complexity and omissions of Burda instructions, wouldn't you think they'd fire the crew they have writing them and hire someone better? I use their children's patterns all the time because they fit so nicely and are so well drafted, but you pretty much have to improvise your own instructions. Not quite as bad as the adult patterns, but almost.
2/22/14 12:53 PM
ArtAttack said...
Doesn't it make you wonder how they even come up with these methods? It's really cute but there are many others with the same effect. Save yourself! I applaud you for even considering it again!
4/28/13 12:56 PM
slmstyle said...
Cute little dress! Thank you for your detailed and honest review of this pattern and its problematic instructions. It sure turned out nice though!
4/28/13 12:27 PM
Immelu said...
It looks great, despite the effort! If you want to try another twist top, I highly recommend Jalie 2788...It's my go to twist top!
4/28/13 12:24 PM
SewWil said...
The finished product looks great. Who would have thought you would have encountered the issues you did. Your dress is very flattering on you.
4/28/13 11:58 AM
1SewSweet said...
Thanks so much for the review! As I mentioned on your blog, I really like this dress and now that I've read your review, I will give it a go with a muslin first! Thanks again for your review!
4/28/13 11:54 AM
miausiau said...
This dress turned out well despite the troubles. The good news with sewing is at some point you begin to develop your own techniques and the instructions are only there to scare you. I hope a better idea comes along about the multi layers...it looks like a flattering neckline.
4/28/13 11:29 AM
wildberrymom said...
I have made up M5484 which has similar front detail and I had no issues with bulk. You might need to redraft the skirt from flare to a straighter line to get a look similar to this. The pattern does offer a sleeveless option. My review might not be that helpful as I made it in black jersey knit and it is hard to see in photos but I am planning to make it again this year. It was an easy do once I figured out the twisted center detail but you've already done that once on this pattern. Your dress is darling but I would not care for dealing with the bulk either.
4/28/13 11:22 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very cute fun dress, I sewed a twist top that took some figuring out too, beautiful Mood fabric :)
4/28/13 9:02 AM
Ashford said...
You did a good job on the dress and the review. I will enjoy following your comments as you explore your casual wardrobe selections.
4/28/13 7:43 AM
caper81 said...
Very helpful review, I wouldn't have guessed this pattern would give a person headache, but yes, looks can be deceiving! Turned out looking great on you though! Very flattering :)
4/28/13 7:40 AM
BillieJean said...
I'm glad you persevered because you have a lovely dress that will be perfect for hot weather.
4/28/13 6:29 AM
jlg said...
Great running around town dress. It looks perfectly made in the pictures.
4/28/13 6:04 AM
CypGrl said...
I'll be interested to read suggestions you may get. Looks very nice on you.
4/28/13 0:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Butterick 5681

photo
by: CTBarb

Review
McCall's 6694

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

More Info