Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6694 (Misses' Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 284 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews: 98 (patterns: 98)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/13 4:30 PM
Last Updated:4/29/13 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary in FL said... (3/25/14 7:53 PM) Reply
Very nice. I think it looks better without the upper ruffle.
RadarRadiance said... (10/8/13 9:02 PM) Reply
Very cute, love it on you. I like how you kept with just the lower ruffle, makes it a lot more classy!
zenn said... (8/13/13 11:45 PM) Reply
very cute and flattering on you. i like the double ruffle equal to a single. i am making this for a bff and was pleasantly surprised by a few features leading me here seeking guidance. i have read other reviews that complain about the loose-fitting blouse but i think it is essentially loose-fitting to accentuate the more fitted and flattering raised waist. is it not? i can't quite tell by the pics and have not read about the raised waist. my bff is 5'2" i shortened the blouse up to the adjustment line front and back. did you make a similar adjustment? did you end up with a raised waist and a loose-fitting blouse? on another note, this is the first raw-edge pattern i have taken on. is there really no seam or finishing of any kind at the bottom of each ruffle? would you suggest finishing? thank you so much. just curious and very grateful to read your very helpful post. thanks!
sarahjoharris said... (5/11/13 9:41 PM) Reply
Very flattering! And you haven't reviewed it here yet, but your white lace Vogue 8766 dress is amazing!
caper81 said... (4/30/13 5:55 PM) Reply
I think you did well to remove the second ruffle. If I were to try this pattern I'd follow your lead :) I just bought one of those scary-looking rufflers and I have yet to figure it out on my sewing machine, let alone a serger! You did such a great job on your dress! Your version looks far more appealing than the McCalls. Very feminine indeed! :)
Mahogany Stylist said... (4/30/13 4:10 PM) Reply
Lovely dress.
Jstarr4250 said... (4/30/13 10:41 AM) Reply
Very pretty. I enjoyed your blog post on this and am so impressed that you're using the attachments on a serger that you just got. Mine is almost a year old and I'm still intimidated by the special feet.
wildberrymom said... (4/30/13 2:38 AM) Reply
The second ruffle would be too much--very nice and feminine as is.
shaleenymay said... (4/29/13 8:44 PM) Reply
That is so cute! I am glad that second ruffle is gone lol.It was adding too much bulk.
Danmar said... (4/29/13 6:01 PM) Reply
I too like it without the ruffle. Really like the way it looks on you. Good choice in pattern and fabric!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Simplicity 2281

photo
by: sewtofit

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Pattern Details