SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6694 (Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 243 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/13 4:30 PM
Last Updated:4/29/13 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danmar said...
I too like it without the ruffle. Really like the way it looks on you. Good choice in pattern and fabric!
4/29/13 6:01 PM
shaleenymay said...
That is so cute! I am glad that second ruffle is gone lol.It was adding too much bulk.
4/29/13 8:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
The second ruffle would be too much--very nice and feminine as is.
4/30/13 2:38 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very pretty. I enjoyed your blog post on this and am so impressed that you're using the attachments on a serger that you just got. Mine is almost a year old and I'm still intimidated by the special feet.
4/30/13 10:41 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
4/30/13 4:10 PM
caper81 said...
I think you did well to remove the second ruffle. If I were to try this pattern I'd follow your lead :) I just bought one of those scary-looking rufflers and I have yet to figure it out on my sewing machine, let alone a serger! You did such a great job on your dress! Your version looks far more appealing than the McCalls. Very feminine indeed! :)
4/30/13 5:55 PM
sarahjoharris said...
Very flattering! And you haven't reviewed it here yet, but your white lace Vogue 8766 dress is amazing!
5/11/13 9:41 PM
zenn said...
very cute and flattering on you. i like the double ruffle equal to a single. i am making this for a bff and was pleasantly surprised by a few features leading me here seeking guidance. i have read other reviews that complain about the loose-fitting blouse but i think it is essentially loose-fitting to accentuate the more fitted and flattering raised waist. is it not? i can't quite tell by the pics and have not read about the raised waist. my bff is 5'2" i shortened the blouse up to the adjustment line front and back. did you make a similar adjustment? did you end up with a raised waist and a loose-fitting blouse? on another note, this is the first raw-edge pattern i have taken on. is there really no seam or finishing of any kind at the bottom of each ruffle? would you suggest finishing? thank you so much. just curious and very grateful to read your very helpful post. thanks!
8/13/13 11:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very cute, love it on you. I like how you kept with just the lower ruffle, makes it a lot more classy!
10/8/13 9:02 PM
mary in FL said...
Very nice. I think it looks better without the upper ruffle.
3/25/14 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Other Period Costume for Stage

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now