Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5253 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2444 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:PVA
photo
About PVAstar
OR USA
Member since: 3/28/04
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/05 8:14 PM
Last Updated:3/23/05 8:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim Winson said...
Love your jacket! And thank you for the excellent review. I am almost finished (buttons and hemming) with this same jacket, but in fleece. So nice to see it in a woven! Kim
3/22/05 8:42 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow!! You really did a fantastic job on your jacket!! It is such a great color on you. Congratulations on finishing such a superb jacket. Thanks for the excellent review. Jennifer
3/22/05 8:47 PM
Lori V said...
great jacket and review
3/22/05 10:07 PM
mClones said...
Jacket looks great on you. Thanks for the set-in sleeve instructions. Sounds and looks like you get good results with it. I'd like to try it but, don't you get burnt fingers with all that steaming?
3/22/05 11:48 PM
PVA said...
Thanks all for all the encouragement & compliments. I do appreciate all the support! Hi mClones & thank you. For Margaret's method to ease in the sleeve cap it's necessary to be sure & give yourself plenty of time. In the steaming process it's best to sock the steam to it & let it cool a little before handling it. Each time! When I'm doing this it's at a time when I don't have anything else competing for my attention. (8^D)
3/23/05 0:42 AM
flowermama said...
Beautiful jacket and lovely color on you! I would love to see your links but I can't, I'm not sure if they work. Thanks for all the construction details - BTW how do you like the interfacing from Peggy Sagers? I am considering purchasing some.
3/23/05 1:03 AM
ChrisK said...
What a lovely jacket, great colour and fit - also thanks for the detailed review. The links are not working and I'd so love to see the inside of your fab jacket ;-)
3/23/05 2:51 AM
AnneM said...
Pat - congratulations!!! The links within the review aren't "live", & I would love to see those pics. Great review; I was hopeing to see it shortly. Neat technique on the sleeves for difficult to handle fabrics.
3/23/05 4:03 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty jacket. The color is beautiful.
3/23/05 5:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Beautiful jacket. Thanks for posting that tip about easing the sleeve cap into the jacket.
3/23/05 6:19 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting technique for easing the sleeve caps -- I think I will try it. Lovely jacket and great review.
3/23/05 6:20 AM
MaryBeth said...
Hey, you've gotten the main photo to work and your jacket is lovely! Good review too, with lots of info. Thanks! Hopefully you'll get the extra links to work, too. I'll check back :)
3/23/05 7:48 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice, PVA. Great review. Another thanks for the sleeve easing tips. Must try that.
3/23/05 7:57 AM
BjP said...
Such a beautiful color on you! This is absolutely *your* color! Great looking jacket and a very well-done review full of tips. (BJP now instead of jeanetteP)
3/23/05 11:16 AM
Georgene said...
Super color! I love the inside trim. I'll be looking for a few more versons of this from you.
3/23/05 2:21 PM
Tiner W said...
This is a great review, full of info that I will use for a project I'm currently working on! Your jacket is beautiful, inside and out. I hope you have many opportunities to "artfully" display it!
3/23/05 2:38 PM
Snowblossom said...
Great job! thanks for the sleeve setting technique, I will have to try it. Love the fabric - that is absolutely my color & I have been trying to find jacket wait fabric in that color. I have just ordered some. Yippee!
3/23/05 3:01 PM
tigger said...
Fantastic jacket - I love it and really enjoyed reading your review since I'm currently working on a jacket pattern - my first - of my own! Great review!
3/23/05 3:08 PM
lynndieloo said...
Hi PVA, I really like your jacket. The interior is very nicely finished. Thanks for sharing the techniques you used. I like way you eased the sleeve caps. Anyway, great job. I look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future.
3/23/05 3:50 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
GREAT job! Kudos!
3/23/05 4:10 PM
SueV said...
yeah, go ahead, toss that jacket and expose it - it's beautiful and a great review!
3/23/05 6:39 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for showing the gorgeous lining, Pat! You are inspiring me to forge onto the tailored jacket project.
3/23/05 8:16 PM
Ann B. said...
Pat, your jacket it fantastic! I hope that you enjoy it every time you wear it. Beautiful, beautiful.
3/23/05 11:32 PM
krillekat said...
What a great jacket and review. This was truly helpful to read!
3/24/05 7:51 AM
Gemma K. said...
What a gorgeous jacket! Where could you ever find a RTW jacket with such quality workmanship, superb fit and beautiful lining? Itís a perfect example of why we sew.
3/24/05 8:36 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Pat, your jacket is wonderful, and the review is very helpful. You shouldn't have to toss this anywhere for people to see the inside - just wear it inside out! :) I hope you get plenty of use for your newly-learned techniques.
3/24/05 9:37 AM
moushka said...
Thank you for the sleeve setting instructions. Gotta give it a try. Your jacket turned out beautifully. Wish I'd seen this class before it was full. Will have to look up the Threads article and give it a try.
3/24/05 3:30 PM
PVA said...
Gosh, thank you all for the wonderful compliments. I'm visiting my DS & family & have the jacket with me for church Easter morning.
3/25/05 11:02 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pat, it's wonderful!! Both the jacket and to see a review from you. I'll echo what's already been mentioned but one can never have too many compliments -- this is a GREAT color on you. Very striking. Loved all the details you included, very thorough. And I hope I'm in that room when you nonchalantly toss your jacket and the gorgeous lining is displayed to everyone's envy. :)
3/25/05 3:45 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What a great review...I'm going to have to pull out that Threads issue the next time I have time to spend learning on a garment instead of just cranking it out because it's needed ASAP ;) What a terrific looking jacket you've created...I bet you'll really enjoy wearing it!
3/30/05 7:50 AM
funsewer said...
Your jacket is just lovely and your review extremely informatinve. Thank you so much.
6/8/06 11:54 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Pat, I just ran across this review while searching for an example of a longer jacket. I had no idea that you made this jacket that is in your profile! Gorgeous fit and wonderful color on you! Thanks for sharing --love Mgt. Islander's tip on the sleeve insertion. Thank you! Carla
2/19/07 10:10 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
I really like this. What a great job! Very stylist & looks extremely well made.
4/27/11 6:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 7/9/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fehr Trade 000
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 3/18/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9675 Pattern
Burda 9675 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us