Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5206 (Criss-Cross Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1957 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/05 8:42 AM
Last Updated:3/20/05 8:48 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Irina, thanks for a helpful review. Re the fit in the shoulders and upper chest, I think this is such a matter of taste. Yours looks okay to me, but if you are not pleased with it that is what matters. I compared this patttern to some others that are drafted for a body-hugging fit with a natural shoulder line. This one is definitely drafted wider across the shoulder and chest. This is a styling feature that will not give the kind of fit you may be looking for. It is an issue of pattern shape rather than size. In general, LH doesn't produce patterns that are truly fitted. Her styles generally have a relaxed fit in the upper body. I like the neckline treatment on this pattern, and will borrow it to use on other tee patterns that fit me better.
3/20/05 9:08 AM
rach said...
There's a fitting adjustment described by Marcy Tilton in her 1998 book on tops and tee-shirts (pg.46) that might help the bust/underarm fit. It consists of lengthening the top at the bust by 1/2", adding a curved bit at the sides, which is then eased in when sewing the side seams together. This would enable you to use a close-fitting size through the shoulder/upper chest/armhole area, while allowing enough fabric to shape well over the bust area.
3/20/05 10:07 AM
drsue said...
I love your top and think it looks much nicer than the pattern envelope photos. I think the shoulder look like they fit fine but perhaps you just need a mini FBA to get rid of the folds above the bust.
3/20/05 10:38 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the review, Irina! Your top looks great on you!!
3/20/05 11:02 AM
Karla Kizer said...
My litmus test is usually "If I tried on RTW that fit like this, would I buy it?" My answer in this case would be a resounding " YES - in every color". Don't overanalyze the fit; change it next time if you want, but wear this top knowing that it looks great. Doggone it, another pattern on my list...
3/20/05 11:07 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I think the fit looks pretty terrific, Irina, and I'm with Karla--I'd buy one in every color. The fit you got with yours looks *worlds* better than the pattern photos, and the fabric you used looks yummy.
3/20/05 11:12 AM
Elona said...
What a pretty top, Irina! I think your choice of shoulder size in this pattern is the right one. It looks as though the sleeve starts just about at your own shoulder "hinge." As mini observes, the upper body/chest of this pattern does seem to run wide, and I don't think cutting that part any larger would have been flattering for you. The dreaded fold at the upper bust/armhole is something I'm grappling with, too. On me, it is absolutely related to a snug fit at the upper and full bust, and it shows up on all my current RTW tops, since the fashion is more close-fitting now. I suspect it has something to do with the armhole curve in relationship to that tight bustline.
3/20/05 11:14 AM
jlg said...
Irina, I have to agree with the previous comments. I think that your top looks great on you as it is. You have such a graceful figure.
3/20/05 11:34 AM
keric said...
Your's is much better than the model's. It looks wonderful on you! Beautiful!
3/20/05 11:37 AM
SewTwin said...
This looks like a D-TNT(Dynamite TNT).I had the same problem on my Jalie 2005.Took a teeny dart,solved the problem.Not to worry,this would pass all designers reviews!I love your reviews,they are always classic,and tailored.Now if we could only trade the lean body,I would be the happy camper.Se la vi!Did you alter the neckline?Perfect height for me!
3/20/05 12:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Irina - This looks great and I love the fit on you! I'm in the "I would buy one in every color crowd!"
3/20/05 12:53 PM
LBJ said...
Great review! You're right, I've avoided this pattern because of it's baggyness, as I too am small. Your top looks beautiful on you. It looks classic and is very flattering. Now I'm reconsidering this pattern.
3/20/05 12:58 PM
lisa m said...
Gorgeous fit, Irina. Loes Hinse patterns are notorious for having pretty awful envelope photos. I think the designer would say your shirt fits exactly as she intended. It is meant to be close fitting.
3/20/05 1:11 PM
Vivienne said...
I agree with the "buy one in every colour" crowd. The shoulder fit is perfect. I see what you mean about the small fold above bust, but it is really tiny. Nice sleeve length too.
3/20/05 2:41 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks everyone for your feedback. I really do love the top and plan to wear it a lot. I just have a thing about that annoying fold above the bust that appears on so many of my tops. I also made another Jalie 2005 this weekend, and yes, of course, it is there too. I'm an A cup, so it is difficult to imagine needing a teeny FBA, but perhaps I do.
3/20/05 3:28 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the comments about how this seems to fit you well. Looks better than the pattern photo.
3/21/05 5:28 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice. What a nice fit!
10/6/05 2:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Child's shirt
photo
Review by michellep7... on 10/11/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3300 Bra
photo
Review by Nancywin on 6/9/09
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6932 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6932 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2278 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2278 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us