SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8876 (Misses Dress)

22 more reviews
Viewed 751 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 157
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/13 6:10 PM
Last Updated:5/13/13 6:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmcp said...
This IS a great review. For anyone who wants to make this dress as designed, you could try to make it without a front closure. I made a muslin, sewed it all the way up, and was able to slip it over my head (I'm not very busty.) I took about 3 inches out of various of the (many) seams so it was much less tentlike but still had the flowy effect, and I could still slip it on, just with a little more effort. Now all I have to do is transfer all those changes from the muslin to the pattern....
7/1/13 7:33 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks for this excellent review! I stumbled on this pattern, and saw your review. We are similar in shape and your thorough review gives me an idea of what I'd look like, also what I'm up against. I have a beautiful linen tablecloth with cutwork (vertical lines) that I'd like to use for this pattern, as I feel the vertical lines would look slimming.
6/29/13 8:19 AM
Patti B said...
Your pretty results is worth the effort -- very nice! I have just finished the vest version of this and can't wait to wear it.
5/27/13 5:23 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, THANK YOU for all the wonderful construction photos, LABELED and everything. This dress is just SO DANG CUTE on your. :o)) But then, WHAT ISN'T? I love that it's looser, but yet it has built-in shape (as well it should, with 15 pieces). :o) It just looks so comfy and chic to wear.
5/23/13 0:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your efforts and perseverance were worth it to create a fantastic looking dress! Thank you for your detailed review.
5/22/13 12:48 PM
lamstu said...
A very pretty dress in spite of the challenges. I'd love to see your results with the lighter fabrics!
5/17/13 4:59 AM
SusanPartlan said...
The dress looks comfortable and flattering on you. I especially like the collar details. Love wendyrb's editing of "petite older woman."
5/16/13 6:14 PM
liliv said...
it's gorgeous dress, pretty on you! I envy your floral fabric! The zipper is a nice detail. The review is very helpful and I' m big fun "Whatever works" technique:))
5/15/13 10:33 AM
Mushywear said...
Beautiful job on this! I love the print on you. Thank you for your review. I have this pattern and want to make it this summer too!
5/15/13 4:40 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Holy cow, Mary. This was a big adventure- fifteen pattern pieces and sketchy instructions? Eep! I agree with Wendy-you are a beautiful older? petite woman. This looks lovely on you!!
5/14/13 8:25 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks for the details. Your dress is beautiful. I have been looking at my copy trying to decide whether to go for it.
5/14/13 7:45 PM
marthamyers said...
Well, I do think your version is totally adorable. Great fabric choice. Though I struggled with all the problems you note, your fabulous little French dress makes me want to sew another!
5/14/13 7:38 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely dress -- looks wonderful on you and great for summer!
5/14/13 1:38 PM
marec said...
I need to add a few details on the length of this dress. I sewed it without any petite adj. for length. I can see adding length to the pattern, but not removing because of the pleats and band. I am 5'1" in bare feet. Carolyn said she was past the age of knee length-I think this style would look cute with leggings. In fact, Martha made this in green linen and paired it with leggings. Totally cute!
5/14/13 12:59 PM
MNBarb said...
The colors might be fall-ish but they are YOU! I love this floaty dress and think it will be the garment to grab for an outing on a hot summer day. Yeah, zipper instructions, they could at LEAST direct you to a tutorial if they are going to be so vague. Congrats on a winner.
5/14/13 12:36 PM
barbcl said...
A very pretty dress that is perfect for the summer. Thank you for the top notch tutorial.
5/14/13 11:46 AM
carolynw said...
Your dress is beautiful and the print is lovely - am so happy to read your review as I have this pattern and been hesitating. Can you tell me something about the length - I am 5' 2" and well past the age of knee length - also knee replacement surgery left some not lovely scars. Thanks for such a helpful review
5/14/13 11:24 AM
MamaSewing said...
The dress on the pattern envelope didn't interest me at all but.... I just love your dress!
5/14/13 10:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review, great dress. Thanks so much for all the pictures and helpful information.
5/14/13 7:13 AM
Renata said...
I like your version. And whilst it is a very loose dress, once adjusted, it is a very flattering garment for those of us not so willowy or young.
5/14/13 6:08 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty finished product--looks nice and breezy for summer; I can see where you might enjoy another dress in lighter weight fabric--that would be very nice too.
5/14/13 3:37 AM
wendyrb said...
You forgot 1 very important word. Must insert- I am a BEAUTIFUL petite older woman! You look especially great in this dress. Good News- you can make it for the 1st time only once. Now you know what makes it tick and can really go to town with it. And so can we due to your terrific review- details, visuals and humor. Thanks!
5/14/13 2:15 AM
homewerk said...
Thanks for your detailed review. This is a wonderfully shaped but loose dress. Every reviewer has sewn a unique creation. I was wondering if the burrito method would work on this dress. Glad to hear it does. Love that print on you, too.
5/13/13 11:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Super review of this very cool dress. It looks great on you. I want to make it but can't decide on the type of fabric. Your floral works so well which makes me think that this dress will look wonderful in so many types of fabric. Thanks for all the info!
5/13/13 11:13 PM
Dilliander said...
Marec, thanks for the interesting and enjoyable review, your dress is gorgeous and the next one will be much easier.
5/13/13 9:14 PM
Amiejean said...
Wonderful review, this has to be one of the top most helpful reviews I have ever read here. Thank you. I have this pattern and have hesitated making it. Your creation is cute, looks very comfy and cool for summer. I love te fabric. I'm going to try this soon, thanks for inspiration!
5/13/13 8:59 PM
cleverkitty said...
marec you made yourself a super dress, gorgeous print. Your review was interesting and funny I like the "whatever works technique" ....I use that method myself :)
5/13/13 7:36 PM
meadowclark said...
I really like the dress. I appreciate the detail in this review. With many thanks.
5/13/13 6:37 PM
ArtAttack said...
Mary, wow! This was quite an odyssey! You did end up with a really pretty dress...I love the floral print.
5/13/13 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2475

photo
by: Danmar

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now