Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8669 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 207 times 10 more reviews
Reviewed by:SusanPartlan
photo
About SusanPartlanstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/14/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:53 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 3:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I love the colour of your top. I get that horizontal line too but it only settles into it after I leave the mirror. Very annoying because I think I am looking good! I've given up on knits with this type of cowl because of the line, which by the way is worse on me than yours is. I think the whole top settles towards the back and causes pulling - could this be what yours is doing too?
5/15/13 3:09 AM
marec said...
What a great top with a beautiful cowl. I see the line you refer to, and I'll confess that I have been known to switch to a soft bra to allow the fabric to nestle down between the "mounds". I think it is a function of the fabric and the cowl, as ChristmasHills mentioned above.
5/15/13 9:35 AM
SusanPartlan said...
ChristmasHills, I'm convinced the horizontal line is primarily about the fabric drape but I think you're right that if the top shifts up (pulls to the back) that might also be a contributing factor.
5/16/13 5:53 PM
SusanPartlan said...
Thank you Marec. The reason I think it's mainly the fabric, not the design per se, is that I tried free draping different kinds of fabric with the grecian folds at the neckline and less drapey fabrics don't seem to make an obvious horizontal at the bust. Btw, I did try different bras and the line was still there with both structured and soft bras.
5/16/13 5:56 PM
gleta said...
I love your top! I've made this pattern several times & have made a couple of alterations, not for fit, just to make it hang better. I made a high round back adjustment adding just 1cm at the c.b. to prevent it sliding back over my shoulders...the only time I've ever had to do so... & extended the front neck edge up at the c.f. 10cm curving it back to the armhole edge. This gave it a triangular piece that drops down the inside & prevents the neckline hem from rolling outwards. Having done all that I love it.
5/18/13 11:16 PM
SusanPartlan said...
Hi Gleta, thank you. I agree that getting the top to hang better is important and that it doesn't hang well as drafted. What I plan to do is try adding the front grecian fold feature to my self drafted bodice sloper, with 3/4 sleeves, because my sloper hangs perfectly. I will also use a woven fabric.
5/20/13 4:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us