SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8669 (Misses' Top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 240 times 
Reviewed by:SusanPartlan
photo

 
 
About SusanPartlanstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/14/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:53 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 3:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SusanPartlan said...
Hi Gleta, thank you. I agree that getting the top to hang better is important and that it doesn't hang well as drafted. What I plan to do is try adding the front grecian fold feature to my self drafted bodice sloper, with 3/4 sleeves, because my sloper hangs perfectly. I will also use a woven fabric.
5/20/13 4:56 PM
gleta said...
I love your top! I've made this pattern several times & have made a couple of alterations, not for fit, just to make it hang better. I made a high round back adjustment adding just 1cm at the c.b. to prevent it sliding back over my shoulders...the only time I've ever had to do so... & extended the front neck edge up at the c.f. 10cm curving it back to the armhole edge. This gave it a triangular piece that drops down the inside & prevents the neckline hem from rolling outwards. Having done all that I love it.
5/18/13 11:16 PM
SusanPartlan said...
Thank you Marec. The reason I think it's mainly the fabric, not the design per se, is that I tried free draping different kinds of fabric with the grecian folds at the neckline and less drapey fabrics don't seem to make an obvious horizontal at the bust. Btw, I did try different bras and the line was still there with both structured and soft bras.
5/16/13 5:56 PM
SusanPartlan said...
ChristmasHills, I'm convinced the horizontal line is primarily about the fabric drape but I think you're right that if the top shifts up (pulls to the back) that might also be a contributing factor.
5/16/13 5:53 PM
marec said...
What a great top with a beautiful cowl. I see the line you refer to, and I'll confess that I have been known to switch to a soft bra to allow the fabric to nestle down between the "mounds". I think it is a function of the fabric and the cowl, as ChristmasHills mentioned above.
5/15/13 9:35 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love the colour of your top. I get that horizontal line too but it only settles into it after I leave the mirror. Very annoying because I think I am looking good! I've given up on knits with this type of cowl because of the line, which by the way is worse on me than yours is. I think the whole top settles towards the back and causes pulling - could this be what yours is doing too?
5/15/13 3:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Butterick 5749

photo
by: Viviette

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

More Info
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info